Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 20, 2007 | 5:18 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 22, 2007
  • Review Crew Pick August 22, 2007
  • Daily Feature August 21, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well hello Newgrounders, long time, no see. If you've wondered where I've been all this time, well, school has been sucking up my soul. I apologize for neglecting NG all this time. it feels like forever since I submitted something. This is actually my first flash submitted since I got Flash 8.

Anyways, this is an animation I made during the last semester of school at IUPUI. I originally made it for my school's biannual VisionFest contest that was being held August 16-18th of this year. Buuuut...ultimately I got beat out by an animation about bird calls. T'was a shame.

What inspired me to make this flash was actually the music, Kismet by Bond. As I was listening to it one day, I was suddenly overcome by this storyline that was going through my head as the music was playing. Kinda like watching a Fantasia short. I knew what I had to do... I have to admit, this didn't turn out as majestic as I imagined it, but I guess I'm still somewhat novice in animation. Also, some of the scenes lag a little, I'm sorry.

To get this done in time for the deadline, I acquired help from a fellow Newgrounds artist, Zombie-Pimp. He did a lot of the backgrounds and a few of the background people, he was a huge help, I dunno if I would of been able to finish before the deadline without him. Thanks, Man.

I also gotta give a big shout-out to Tom Fulp for everything (Newgrounds, increase of size limit, sponsorship), you're just...awesome. Thanks.

This flash takes place in a world after post-nuclear fallout has turned Earth into a desert planet. As a result, society is shaped accordingly and is thrown into an era resembling an Arabian setting.

Well, I'm sure you're all bored of reading all this, so go ahead and start the movie. And as always, ENJOY!

-Flecko-

P.S. (8/21/07) I've been reading each review intensely. Each of your (fellow Newgrounders) reviews make me feel better about the past few days. I've been able to dust myself off quickly and realize that I've been able to entertain a lot of people. In a way, (I still miss that scholarship) I'm glad I lost in the VisionFest, because now I realize that I always have a place of retreat or a home here at Newgrounds and that it will never turn me away or let me down. (I know...sappy. But I had to say it) Thank you all for the awesome reviews, and Thank you Newgrounds!

P.P.S. (8/23/07) A lot of users have been asking me how long this took to make. I'm gonna post the answer on here because I'm sure a lot of you are wondering. I started actual production in the middle of March (2007) and was able to finish barely before the contest submission deadline on June 1st (2007). But that whole last month of May...whew...I was pulling off up to 38 hour shifts at a time just to get this done. I was in constant panic mode pretty much. I HOPE I never have to go through something like that again, I can't imagine what kinda unhealthy side effects could result from it. Cappuccino helped too. Weeeee, cappuccino! French Vanilla!

Reviews


RelliK21591RelliK21591

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

. . . cant think . . .

this looks like it could be possibly on of the best things ever drawn up. this has to be the best thing ive everseen nd the fact that it has a sort of aladdin base makes it even better cuz i luv dat movie. if u can make a longer one. wit more of a storyline cuz this was jus beautiful my friend. Props 2 u! . . . i want tacos . . .


People find this review helpful!

bigjay821bigjay821

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

Extravagant

This is the best looking thing I've ahve ever seen posted thus far on newgrounds, you could make a whole series out of it! ( you'd hafta explain how he did that transformation thing but meh...)

Music was great, animation was great, storyline was a little patchy ( not bad, but not much background story either ) I mean I REALLY loved this flash and would like very much if you made it into a full series, you ROCK! Keep up the good work friend<



IrishLuckIrishLuck

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

This was very entertaning...

I can understand how you got the insparation from the music; i loved it. The flash was almost as majestic as the music. You may think that you are a novice animator but from what i just saw i think that you could go on to make some of the best flashes...no wait...maybe even movies. I really cant wait untill you release your next piece. I give this awesome piece of artwork a 10/10 because you deserve it very much.


People find this review helpful!

psycochicken999psycochicken999

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

fuck shit die die die u bitch ur ass is mine JK

that flash pwned man make like a sequel i loved the animation and it fit the music perfectly



emonylaynicketsay13emonylaynicketsay13

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

Please read this!!!

That was incredible. I have that same ability, you know, to write narratives directed by the music. I really loved the art direction in this flash, the robotic guards were incredible. I really hope you read this because I want desparetly to make full length motion pictures with music driven narratives. You are an insanely talented animator (I actually don't animate myself, but love the products :) ) There are plenty of little blurbs stuck in my brain like this, set to all kinds of music. I'd love to share these visions with somebody, and get them animated, just to, you know, have something to look at. If that sounds interesting, just email me at emonylaynicketsay13@yahoo.com. If not, you are still the shit, man. Great job.


People find this review helpful!