Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 16, 2007 | 2:38 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place August 17, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Brackenwood
    Brackenwood The world of Bitey and company is full of magic and wonder!

Author Comments

Also! before you watch it, its probably wise to turn your volume down as the excessive grunt noises can give off the wrong impression to people who aren't watching the visuals...better yet! just mute it!!!
EDIT: Since alot of you don't know the myth and so don't really understand it, here is a brief explanation;
The Myth Of Sisyphs is about a man condemned by the gods to push a boulder up a mountain for eternity, never able to reach the top. There's much more to it than that but that should be all you need to know ;)
EDIT: Look at my news post for the character design basis of sisyphus, it's the image i based the character design on!
I was partly Inspired by the work of Adam Phillips, i learnt alot of animation techniques from his work and this has resulted in a few similarities of style, i'm a huge fan of his and im not trying to rip him off, nextime you'll see something different from me anyway :D
*EDIT* frontpage and brackenwood collection thank you!!!!
Many of you have been saying that it's just a brackenwood ripoff and aren't giving it a fair chance but it should be completely different, though my style may be similar the character is actually based on an old original drawing of sisyphus from the myth so sorry for any resemblence!!! :)
WOOHOO Daily 3rd! Watch the credits 'cause the animation ain't over till its over!
(Just want to mention that i am reading every each one of your reviews! keep em coming! It makes it all worth it !!:D)
SO, here it is!!! my first BIG animation! and when i say big i mean you hopefully won't be complaining that the animations too short or the fact that i had to cut like a whole scene out because the file size exceeded the limit..dammit.... This animation is totally FBF which i always do 'cause i hate untraditional animation like tweens, ect;
My usual rant/analysis/review thing will now be on my userpage so go check it out after you've watched it! Big thanks to the Kartunehustla for help with the audio syncing! This took me about 3 months for the animation in total, but the first month was spent on the first 3 cuts WITH A MOUSE, but then i got a tablet and it all sped up. a month was spent on audio and then about a week was spent trying to fix loads of problems in with the audio. Here's a few quick facts!
RUNTIME: WAS, exactly 6mins 0.6secs, but with the cuts it's now about 5mins 30secs approx;
FRAMES: WERE, 7212, but with cuts probably 7100 approx;
FRAME RATE: 20.0 FPS

Sorry but i couldn't make a quality adjustment option, i'm absolutely useless with actionscript... so it might lag on a few scenes depending wether you have a bit of a crappy PC or not... Hope you like it!!

Reviews


ComputerVirusComputerVirus

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2010

I got the rock pushing,but what for?

Why was he pushing the rock?Why is he struggleing to do something that can be resolved in many other ways?What is the rock for? This shows that even the weak can push big obsticles,so you guys who pick on small thigns better watch it because sometimes certain small thigns have big enough strength to kill you,thatswhat i think of this video. Great job.


People find this review helpful!
CatFat responds:

The back story behind this myth is that he was once a king, punished by the gods to eternally roll the boulder up a mountain. But i left it up to interpretation. I like what you said, thank you ^_^


BorjoyzeeBorjoyzee

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2010

Yep,just like suckciety

Very,very good,keep up the good work


People find this review helpful!
CatFat responds:

Thank you muchly!


NielsonNielson

Rated 0 / 5 stars April 10, 2010

why?

No moral, no story, just a guy pushing a fuckin rock?! and wtf happend to his face?


CatFat responds:

haha, you didn't have to watch it
Some could view it as a metaphor for materialistic (uphill) struggles of modern society and how ROCKY (get it) the path can be or, how precarious a position can be, to hold the zenith point of metropolitan hierarchy. Humanities contrived aspiration for validity in a simplistic seemingly unconnected or juxtaposed representation.
Also i believe he was inflicted with a form of Hirsutism.


JohnDavidHeptinstallJohnDavidHeptinstall

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 27, 2010

very well done.

I'm glad to see someone getting rid of tweens altogether, as they do tend to stick out like a sore thumb and add a certain level of unprofessionality to a work - The animation was interesting to behold - in certain places it seemed to lapse a little in detail compared with other scenes and the drawing seemed a little sloppier, but overall this didn't matter as it blended together with the rough, sketched style of the main character here. I didn't find the grunts at all annoying - It's strange, but in a way I thought they were a nessecary element in order to keep the flash moving along, it felt like more of a struggle because of this. The music was also very fitting and nicely composed, my only real criticism of the piece is that at 20 fps, I would have expected something a little smoother, but maybe you wanted the speed, not smoothness, I'm not sure.
And lastly well done for the Brackenwood collection - probably the best collection you could be included in - and no, I don't find this flash overly comparable to Phillip's animations - though I did pick up on the odd sneaky technique - Was the "running" scene where the camera turns from side to side around Sisyphus inspired by the Yuyu at all? - if so, good work for pulling it off - it looked awesome.


People find this review helpful!
CatFat responds:

Haha thanks alot, i think the rotating thing probably was (not too sure, this was 3 years ago now), i remember REALLY wanting to try out some 3d camera effect like that after seeing some of the brackenwood films, so i guess thats why i incorporated it, purely for my own enjoyment.
Also i think the 'choppyness' was just me getting lazy, more than anything else :P
Thanks for your positive comments!


LukeXDLukeXD

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2010

Enjoyed Every Bit

The Characters Were Very Inspiring I Enjoyed Well Done!


People find this review helpful!
CatFat responds:

Thanks alot i'm glad you liked it :)