Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 28, 2007 | 4:51 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 29, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Update 08/08/07

I'm still replying to everyone, so reviews are greatly appreciated!

You may remember me as Elnoabnuxnux, author of the SAMV series. First and foremost, a deep apology to all of you who are STILL waiting for the continuation of that series. Even though it has been two years, I still get emails about it!!! I give you my word, it will be finished.

Now, on with the introduction!

Thank you for checking out the first installment of Shame by the Slice! While I was working on SAMV, I was trying to devise a way to really infuse some emotion, humanity and well, character to my characters. The big problem I was facing was that every character's face was stone still (except for their mouths) as they spoke. I'm a real perfectionist, and I wracked my brain on what I could do to solve this. I spent a great deal of time experimenting on a generic character and finally hit a real breakthrough. I found that by isolating each of the character's separate eyelids, pupils, ears, eyebrows and mouths, I could truly bring them to life in ways that had never before been possible for me! The result was very labor intensive, but at the same time truly satisfying to behold.

The experiment sort of snowballed. I thought of a name. It was "Shame on a Stick", in reference to "Hot Dog on a Stick". This was problematic, as there was once a sitcom based on this franchise. Thinking back (fondly?) to my pizza delivering days, I was struck with "Shame by the Slice". I thought it was pretty catchy. From there, the creative floodgates opened. I brainstormed up a zoofull of crazy characters. I recalled a lot of the bizarre stuff I had seen while working at the pizza parlor. My mind began brewing up a hilarious script. My thoughts flowed like champagne at a wedding! Before I knew it, I was knee deep in a brand new project.

Well, here is the first part of my labor. I truly hope you enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed making it. I must warn you in advance, I am NOT good at actionscript. I suck at it, in fact. For a month, I poured over a playhead scrubber kind of thing to control the movie, but being that it has multiple scenes, it would not work. Oh well. I kind of think you should watch the whole thing anyway!

Big thanks and shoutz:

Amanda. Thanks for tolerating my countless nights laboring over this thing.
Derek, Jeff and Deidre: Thanks for your voices!
Mom and Dad: Thanks for the DNA!
Ed: For the endless patience. For stickin by me. We're gonna finish part 5!!!
Tom McFulp: Thanks for the creative outlet over the years!!!! Don't know where I'd turn to without it!!!!
And YOU!!! The viewing public!!! Thanks a lot for your support over the last 4 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviews


BBBK123BBBK123

Rated 1 / 5 stars August 4, 2007

ok dude

I didnt like this at all but you have great animation skill you just need to make a better story line...i dont mean to offend you at all in this i just didnt like the falsh


BaconMask responds:

No offense at all man, I really appreciate you taking the time to review. My style ain't for everyone.


jesmarlesmarjesmarlesmar

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 4, 2007

daaauumn man! that was scary!

wicked cool, smooth animation with great secuences.and it was pretty dope, great job man!


BaconMask responds:

Hey, thanks a lot for watching and reviewing! I'm glad that you enjoyed it!


RolandDariumRolandDarium

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 4, 2007

Pretty good there buddy

I liked it a lot, smooth animation, the audio was good, everything about it was good. There is only one thing I think needs improvement, and that is the flow of the dialogue. In the beginning I think you were trying to portray some of the characters being a little slow witted, but the dialogue was way way too slow. Reaction time between the characters responses was also a little on the slow side. The dialogue itself was fine just needs a little tightening up. Cheers ^^


BaconMask responds:

Great point, and I will definately take it into consideration with the second half! I'm glad you liked it and glad that you reviewed! Thanks for the help!


XFlashGrimReaperXXFlashGrimReaperX

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 4, 2007

Hah

Well look at the pizza this way,its better than dominos.Lookin forward to the next one!


BaconMask responds:

Just about anything is better than Dominos! I swear, that's some crap pizza.

Thanks a lot for the review bro!


SlappytappyzappySlappytappyzappy

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 3, 2007

Pure awesome :)

I really got into the story and characters were really likable, pretty much like watching a legit tv show sitcom thing.

Also the sound holy crap good job! Cant overlook the sound cause thats about the one thing that makes cartoons awesome great timing on the little melodies(like when the manager gets mad adn sprouts demon wings heavy metal plays lol) all the sounds around the floating manager were great, i laughed a lot. Great voices.

Ok i gotta throw in some cons here:

Graphics of the characters are great and detailed but i suppose you tried to give em realistic look by moving a lot of their body parts which left a kind of feeling as if they were floating rather than just chilling in one place so take it easy on the constant tweens or whatever it is that you prefer.

Ok ok im done ill go wait patiently for more i guess :(


People find this review helpful!
BaconMask responds:

The audio was really important. It's a big part of what makes a cartoon great. I am really glad that you liked the music! Aside from the song playing when Russel is warning the guys about the floating manager and that great blues lick from Chungadaddy, I did all the music. It took a while to score up some of the tracks, but I think that they worked out pretty well.

I'm gonna review a lot of the tweening in the second half before I put it up. You're right, they kinda seem like they're made out of jelly or something. I may have over-abused the whole tween thing a tad bit. (I'd better watch out for the tween police!)

Anyway, thanks for the great review! And don't worry, I'm busting my ass working on the conclusion!!!

MAKE A PIZZA!!!