Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 28, 2007 | 4:51 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 29, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Update 08/08/07

I'm still replying to everyone, so reviews are greatly appreciated!

You may remember me as Elnoabnuxnux, author of the SAMV series. First and foremost, a deep apology to all of you who are STILL waiting for the continuation of that series. Even though it has been two years, I still get emails about it!!! I give you my word, it will be finished.

Now, on with the introduction!

Thank you for checking out the first installment of Shame by the Slice! While I was working on SAMV, I was trying to devise a way to really infuse some emotion, humanity and well, character to my characters. The big problem I was facing was that every character's face was stone still (except for their mouths) as they spoke. I'm a real perfectionist, and I wracked my brain on what I could do to solve this. I spent a great deal of time experimenting on a generic character and finally hit a real breakthrough. I found that by isolating each of the character's separate eyelids, pupils, ears, eyebrows and mouths, I could truly bring them to life in ways that had never before been possible for me! The result was very labor intensive, but at the same time truly satisfying to behold.

The experiment sort of snowballed. I thought of a name. It was "Shame on a Stick", in reference to "Hot Dog on a Stick". This was problematic, as there was once a sitcom based on this franchise. Thinking back (fondly?) to my pizza delivering days, I was struck with "Shame by the Slice". I thought it was pretty catchy. From there, the creative floodgates opened. I brainstormed up a zoofull of crazy characters. I recalled a lot of the bizarre stuff I had seen while working at the pizza parlor. My mind began brewing up a hilarious script. My thoughts flowed like champagne at a wedding! Before I knew it, I was knee deep in a brand new project.

Well, here is the first part of my labor. I truly hope you enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed making it. I must warn you in advance, I am NOT good at actionscript. I suck at it, in fact. For a month, I poured over a playhead scrubber kind of thing to control the movie, but being that it has multiple scenes, it would not work. Oh well. I kind of think you should watch the whole thing anyway!

Big thanks and shoutz:

Amanda. Thanks for tolerating my countless nights laboring over this thing.
Derek, Jeff and Deidre: Thanks for your voices!
Mom and Dad: Thanks for the DNA!
Ed: For the endless patience. For stickin by me. We're gonna finish part 5!!!
Tom McFulp: Thanks for the creative outlet over the years!!!! Don't know where I'd turn to without it!!!!
And YOU!!! The viewing public!!! Thanks a lot for your support over the last 4 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviews


SpadeOfShadowsSpadeOfShadows

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 12, 2007

I love this.

"Don't worry, we wont steal all the beer and wine coolers"

Just plain awesome.
Keep up the good work.


BaconMask responds:

"Why is this keg empty already?"

"I don't know!!!"

Haa haa, thanks a lot man!


EctonautEctonaut

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 10, 2007

Wow.

That was pretty incredible. The art and animation really brought all the characters to life.


BaconMask responds:

Thank you friend! I am glad you enjoyed it!


JustantineJustantine

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 10, 2007

Hot damn

You know, you never cease to amaze me, my friend. I wish I was half the animator or artist you are. Keep it up, and remember "MAKE A PIZZA!!!" :D


BaconMask responds:

And thank YOU for helping with the voices!! We gotta hook up and collaberate on something someday man!

Seriously, you gotta stop being so modest!!!


lazy-dude4lazy-dude4

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 10, 2007

This was amazing

But I have come to expect amazing from you. Another good work but I want S.A.M.V. That could be one of the best internet series on here. Anyway keep on truckin' dude.


BaconMask responds:

I give you my word, it's the next thing I'm working on. I really miss doing that series. I was at work and I watched all five of them today. Damn, I might even work on it this weekend! Thanks so much for watching!


AtomosAtomos

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 8, 2007

Not bad

Nicely done. It would be nice to see sidetracks in the story so you can get to know the characters more, so that in turn what they do is more funny because you think "That's what they do". But regardless, I found myself laughing at various points throughout. All I can say to critique is work on the humor although it wasn't bad, I would just say give more reason to laugh. (i.e: awkard silences, off-beat mannerisms, and some jabs at our society) and I'll definitely be a fan of this until the end.

Good job. When is the next one being released.


BaconMask responds:

Those are some really thoughtful suggestions, and I completely agree! This episode kinda is what it is, and nothing gets too deep. But, once the characters are a little more firmly established I can definately inject some more sophisticated humor. I'm just not 100% on anyone's manerisms quite yet.

Thanks 1 billion for the review! And the next one should be out within two weeks.