Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 29, 2007 | 3:27 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 30, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Rock Out
    Rock Out A contest to make the best rhythm game!

Author Comments

Edit 02/19/08: I added a replay button and a auto save function. Also, I fixed a glitch that made the game easier and some other minor glitches :)

1337 Edit: So after a few hours (like 3) of checking the engine, I finally saw the bug that led to the key glitch...so I fixed it! Enjoy the now bug-free (at least I think it is) version :D

All songs were taken from the audio portal because the contest rules demand it. PLEASE stop writing reviews complaining why I didn't use Tenacious D songs.

Edit: Oh wow frontpage...wasn't expecting that :D Thanks!
Edit: Thanks alot for 2nd NG! Means alot to me.

Hi everyone this is my entry for the Rock Out Contest. Please read this before you play.

This is your normal rythm game, with a fancy story. You have to hit the corresponding arrow key when it reacehs the top, you all know it. The twist is, the sacred guitar picks have beeen shattered. Only by dancing, you'll be able to recover their parts periodically. It is up to you to bring them back!

I worked really hard on this game...took me nearly 2 weeks, but I worked 4-8 hours a day every day. I hope you like it and find it enjoyable. Also, I put the quality on auto low on the game part because I don't want any complaints that this is lagging, so better safe than sorry :)

Enjoy!

Reviews


StarF68StarF68

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2007

Decent At Best

Alright, so this game was... Well, like the title of this review says, decent at best. The actual game (DDR/FFR/Guitar Hero type, whatever) is done a lot, and so the only chance you have to redeem yourself is the concept/story, the songs you chose, and how well made it was overall.

As for the story, I thought it was pretty good. Kind of unique, and the picks were entertaining. The songs you used were good, especially considering you could only use stuff from the audio portal. As for how well it was made overall... There were problems.

First off, it was REALLY easy on the whole, but also extremely frustrating. A lot of the time the arrows didn't seem to be in sync with the music, and didn't really line up correctly with the arrows (If that makes sense).

Basically, a lot of the time I found myself trying to figure out where the beat of the arrows would hit, and a lot of the time I found myself trying to press the arrow a second before the arrow actually made it to the arrow it was going to overlap.

I only failed once, and that was on the armor games pick. The reason for this is probably because that song has a lot of arrows in close proximity, and a weird glitch happens (Or at least it happened to me) if you screw up. I missed one arrow, and suddenly I was stuck. I was pressing the correct arrows at the correct time, but every single one was coming up as a miss. Not even "too late" or "too early," just all misses, but they were disappearing as I was pressing!

All in all this is really just a decent game. It's not horrible, it has a good concept and fun music to play along with, but it can get pretty annoying, and it's really easy to just beat - even the 'secret key pick.' And also, the secrets aren't really worth unlocking. I mean I don't really want to play through a game so I can unlock random factoids. Although I guess I found the last one about how to get inducted into the museum interesting.

So yeah, good work, and it was pretty good, but it was nothing amazing.


LilDwarf responds:

Hahaha ok thanks for the review.


EmostaticEmostatic

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 4, 2007

Now THIS is what I call MUSIC!

The music is just great, just damn great and the game is entertaining. I guess this wouldn't feel as great if I played Guitar Hero, but that thing still costs about a hundred dollars, so...


LilDwarf responds:

hahaha true. I checked it out yesterday and it's worth $90. How can people buy a game that expensive??


Col-KernelCol-Kernel

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2007

Pretty good.

The game really wasn't a challenge, though it you had any sense of rhythm. Oddly enough the hardest one for me was the armor pick. The Pick of Destiny and the Key pick were a cinch for me. But what is the song in for the armor pick? I know I've heard it before! I swear to God the answer is so obvious and just lurking there in the back of my mind, but I just can't seem the recall what it is! I know it's from a game and that's it.


LilDwarf responds:

Thanks. It's the song from Zelda 2 when you're in a temple. The author is GS-Screamer.


BenbothehoboBenbothehobo

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 4, 2007

awsome

awsome game dude, its like ddr+guitar hero=orgasmic! you should make a sequel and add more songs and fix that one part where you miss 3 or more thing... but still awsome game man.


LilDwarf responds:

OK thanks.


hopetodie6543hopetodie6543

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 4, 2007

GAAAH!!

That godamn armor pick is so fucking hard! Good game, TO HELL WITH THE ARMOR PICK!!!! I mastered everything else except that one. The pick of destiny is too easy, the angry faic pick is FUCKING funny, aand the rest, except for the armor pick of course, you nailed. excellent job on this one, except for the MOTHERFUCKING ARMOR PICK!!!!!!


LilDwarf responds:

Hahaha keep trying buddy