Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 29, 2007 | 3:27 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 30, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Rock Out
    Rock Out A contest to make the best rhythm game!

Author Comments

Edit 02/19/08: I added a replay button and a auto save function. Also, I fixed a glitch that made the game easier and some other minor glitches :)

1337 Edit: So after a few hours (like 3) of checking the engine, I finally saw the bug that led to the key glitch...so I fixed it! Enjoy the now bug-free (at least I think it is) version :D

All songs were taken from the audio portal because the contest rules demand it. PLEASE stop writing reviews complaining why I didn't use Tenacious D songs.

Edit: Oh wow frontpage...wasn't expecting that :D Thanks!
Edit: Thanks alot for 2nd NG! Means alot to me.

Hi everyone this is my entry for the Rock Out Contest. Please read this before you play.

This is your normal rythm game, with a fancy story. You have to hit the corresponding arrow key when it reacehs the top, you all know it. The twist is, the sacred guitar picks have beeen shattered. Only by dancing, you'll be able to recover their parts periodically. It is up to you to bring them back!

I worked really hard on this game...took me nearly 2 weeks, but I worked 4-8 hours a day every day. I hope you like it and find it enjoyable. Also, I put the quality on auto low on the game part because I don't want any complaints that this is lagging, so better safe than sorry :)

Enjoy!

Reviews


oipooipo

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2007

Hmm

Other then that the arrows were sometimes seriously off-beat, it was a nice quick game. Maybe you should've looked at flashflashrevolution.com for some ideas though, as the bar filled up way too quickly, and having a setting that changes the speed of the arrows is neat too.

Otherwise, yeh. One of the more enjoyable rock out competition games.


LilDwarf responds:

The bar filling up too quickly is a mistake on my part. You see, when I fixed a major bug with the arrows, I forgot to change how much the abr fills up on each song, so what happened is that every song fills up quickly. I was then too lazy to fix that hehe. Thanks for the review!


TrisphereTrisphere

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 11, 2007

Fun but off-beat

Seems a lot of the arrows weren't really quite on the beat, but the margin of error is pretty wide so it's still playable. I like the story idea, I'd probably play more stuff like this.


LilDwarf responds:

It COULD be lag, if you're CPU is crap, but it could also be that they're simply off-beat :P


EvilrockerEvilrocker

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 10, 2007

way way WAY too easy

this game is too easy. i beat it the day i found it.


LilDwarf responds:

I beat most of the games here the first day I find them.


daniel221daniel221

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2007

please

this game could use an autosave feature but still its a bery good game


LilDwarf responds:

Yeah...I know :P The second one has all that and much more!


flamewolf393flamewolf393

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 7, 2007

great game

But too easy. I would always have the pick finished within like 1/5 of the song. And what's up with the "secrets"? I was expecting something interesting, like mabye a really hard song or something. But still a great game, mabye if you added a super-speed option.


LilDwarf responds:

The picks getting completed is a mistake on my part. When I fixed a major bug, I forgot to modify how much the bar gets filled per song, then I was too lazy to fix that. Also I did the secrets as they are because I couldn't think of anything else. The secrets on the second one are muchh better.