Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 19, 2007 | 2:11 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature June 20, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place June 20, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

**Daily Feature! Thank you guys!**
**4th Weekly! Excellent! Thank you, thank you!**
**FRONTPAGE! Thanks NG staff! :)**

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel!

www.youtube.com/ DarkarSheik

www.darkarcompany.com
www.myspace.com/ darkar_alatriz

The second episode of my series "Chronicles of a Demon"!

After Darkar pulled out the Hell's blade known as "Inferno", he was granted with a great power, a dangerous mission and a new packet of sugar marshmallow sunshines. Now with the sword and new demonic abilities, Darkar must fight 7 Angel Gods in order to get back the Hell's Stone and keep the balance as always. Of course, after eating something.

This one took me about three weeks and is about 7 minutes long (two more minutes compared to the first one), using 20 frames per second. I got excellent voice actors for this episode such as Sean "Sonicmega" Chiplock, Deven Mack, General Ivan, P3RFECT and of course my best friend Fernando Jasso. I want to give special thanks to Sonicmega because of showing much interest and enthusiasm in this project (really inspiring).

I got a little bit lazy with the script for this episode. I was thinking in creating a 4 minutes episode but thanks to Markus Moisio, a very good writer who is now thinking on a lot of ideas for future episodes, I managed to create a 7 minutes long episode! Actually I keep thinking if it was a good idea. I could have done two different episodes. What the Hell... It's great!

Anyways... Hope you like it guys!

Reviews


CodenameWindCodenameWind

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 19, 2007

Expectations

I don't know what it is really, to be honest. The more I watch flash movies, the higher my expectations get. I'm not at all saying your flash movie wasn't good. Honestly, I don't animate, I do voice-acting, so I can't rip on your animations (which didnt seem to have anything wrong with them, past the fact you can call something part of your own 'style') but it was fluid to say the least.

So, I'll get right to the 'expectations' part. Your animations were fine, sound/voice-acting was crisp, but it wasn't the packaging that was sub-par, it was the content. Quite frankly, the storyline and dialogue don't grab me at all. Once the demon started explaining the 'tablet' thing, my attention span went out the window. To be blunt, that part was boring.

Also, the jokes in there were only mildly funny. Another thing when you've seen so many flash movies is that you tend to see a lot of different jokes and cliches thrown around, but after awhile, some people need to see something really original. There are those out there still young and seeing everything for the first time. Those were the best times, when everything seemed funny.

What you need is more substance, something with more bang for your buck. The problem with short term production (about 3 weeks was it?) is that usually, when people don't have a lot of experience writing scripts, and no one to bounce ideas off of, sometimes its hard to judge how funny something really is. While you look at a show like South Park (yes, I know, a wide comparison here, but its only an example) they produce their shows weekly, with no forethought into each episode beforehand, but because they're skilled writers and are many writers, they can pull it off. Thing is, flash animators can still deliver the same quality as that themselves, it just requires more time, refining and practice.

I know deep down you've got a hell of a lot of potential. This was okay, but it can be even better, it can be awesome even. But take a little more time producing each episode, because while a quantity of episodes will keep fans entertained, only quality will truly leave them satisfied.


People find this review helpful!
Darkar responds:

First of all, thank you for this great and extremely helpful review. Maybe you won't beleive me, but the thing where Evil starts to explain, and those strange scripts appear was exactly the part that I didn't like of my animation. My bad when I didn't make something to change it.

Indeed the script was truly in a hurry... I was in a hurry.. I AM in a hurry. And yes... It didn't has the substance that a lot of people would like. Again... My bad.

Now, turning a little bit to my experience: I have been with Flash animation since a little more than a year by now. In this moment I can tell that this episode has maybe been the best that I have made so far. No, I'm not good enough already. That's why I'm still practicing, writing, designing.

It might be funny, but I have some troubles writing in English... It's hard for me to understand different kinds of humor, (or restating better) I find it difficult to write for an English speaker audience. It's easier for me to write the funniest scripts in Spanish. It's easier for me to make people who speaks the same language laugh. I know it isn't a big deal, but just consider that.

This is my challenge, to be good enough to fill all expectations of all of you who make us animators work harder and improve our skills. It is my challenge to create something good enough to captivate you, good enough to make you want to see it again and again. And it will always be.

I'm still a newbie and that will change. Thank you again for this excellent review and I hope my next project will be a little bit better in your expectations. Takes time, but I'll manage to give you something that will fit your viewing pleasure.


sonicmegasonicmega

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 19, 2007

Man, you submitted this early on me

I didn't have any time to get people from my website to come and watch this before it passed, but oh well.

I know this is perhaps the 500th time you've heard me say this now, but it was nothing but an ABSOLUTE PLEASURE voicing for you, all the way through. I can only hope you'll keep me as Darkar/ Evil/ maybe someone new for Episode 3, because this was an experience I will never forget.

Excellent effort and work, Roberto. A true classic.


People find this review helpful!
Darkar responds:

Again, the pleasure was mine to work with a so talented actor! You really went above all my expectatives, your a genius when refering to voice acting and it would be the same pleasure to work with you in future episodes! Again thank you for your time, effort and interest for this project. Someday we will talk about making the movie! :P


blueblowbangblueblowbang

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 19, 2007

=]

I watched the first one too! THey lost their accents! xD
by the way it was really interesting! keep mmakin em!


Darkar responds:

Yep! That was the point! Thank you!


Mercenary117Mercenary117

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 19, 2007

Nice

Funny little story you got going here...im interested in how the story will play out...looking forward to #3.


Darkar responds:

It'll be funny! Thank you!


AroarathebloodyAroarathebloody

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 19, 2007

kwel submisson

I like the set up to this, good job


Darkar responds:

Thank you!