Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:50 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

IMPORTANT: This is a rather different version of Chapter 1!
The original was released in 2007, but this version was uploaded in 2010. It's basically a 'remake' in many ways, though the plot and events are generally the same.

Unfortunately, your saves from the old version won't work due to the drastic differences behind the scenes, but there are enough differences, I hope, to make replaying worthwhile. Any saves you make in this version can carry over to later chapters properly.

EDIT (21st of August 2010): Sorry, there'd been bugs with this version for a long time! It's because I fixed the bugs on Kongregate and updated the version there, but didn't do so here... Now I have though, so hopefully all problems will be fixed.

Oh, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make sure you have an appropriate Flash Player version! There's a screen at the start that warns you if your version is outdated. If this screen appears *at all*, then you may (probably will) experience some bizarre saving problems. Updating your Flash Player prevents them.

Reviews


JindoJindo

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

omg.. I'm screwed >_<...

I've been seeing ALOT of RPGs, some time after I began planning my own (which was also gonna be divided into chapters), and this was so awesome >_<, I've got alot to compete with if this actually continues :(.

Well, it WAS awesome, not as serious as mine plans to be, a stereotypical save the princess from the dragon beginning, but it was just put together (the retro styled world brung in with a nicely done battle system).

The music suited well, pretty much all there is to it.

The fact that you're also including cutscenes worries me, especially since you did a good job of it =P.

Overall, this was just amazing, I hope my RPG's nearly as good as this =P.


People find this review helpful!
Pseudolonewolf responds:

Heh, while I was making this, I never checked Newgrounds just in case I found something so much better that I could never hope to compete with, which might make me lose motivation...
But nobody else should lose motivation! It'd be just grand actually if I could *inspire* people to make their own RPGs and put serious effort into them!
Or something!

(I wonder how many people realise the intro is a complete parody of so many RPGs out there? o_O)


GoatMaggot666GoatMaggot666

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

very good game!

i look forward to chapter 2


People find this review helpful!

maniacmatymaniacmaty

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

The game was good but...

the game was good but getting to the dragon and killing the dragon DID drag out a bit... but the story sounds good so far and the battle system is sound so cant wait until the next one!



ChaDMcBaDDChaDMcBaDD

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

Really boring

i usually like rpgs, but the storyline is what drives me in most of them. a dragon in a castle, its been done hundreds of times.

anyways, i went through the dragons lair for like 10 min, and killed nothing but the same enemy everytime, and it got really boring, so i quit and came here and gave a review.

Probably the most boring game on newgrounds.


Pseudolonewolf responds:

Ah, such a terrible, terrible shame... I too believe that the story should be the main focus and driving point of an RPG, and in this it is; IF you get past the dragon (which was meant to be really easy, but I suppose the 5-minute effortless dungeon romp is a bit too much for so many peoples' attention spans these days...).

You might've enjoyed it if you'd got past the dragon, too.


gb389gb389

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

awesome!!!

but fucking hard

while i was fighting the dragon
i kept useing recover over and over again

you should let them recover eacher

oh and when you all the chaptors smash it all into one big game


Pseudolonewolf responds:

That dragon is so easy and yet people are struggling!
I suppose I really need to tone it down a tad... Or a lot. People are so lazy and inept, it seems!

And yes, I intend to include all the chapters in one collection when they're all done.