Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:50 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

IMPORTANT: This is a rather different version of Chapter 1!
The original was released in 2007, but this version was uploaded in 2010. It's basically a 'remake' in many ways, though the plot and events are generally the same.

Unfortunately, your saves from the old version won't work due to the drastic differences behind the scenes, but there are enough differences, I hope, to make replaying worthwhile. Any saves you make in this version can carry over to later chapters properly.

EDIT (21st of August 2010): Sorry, there'd been bugs with this version for a long time! It's because I fixed the bugs on Kongregate and updated the version there, but didn't do so here... Now I have though, so hopefully all problems will be fixed.

Oh, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make sure you have an appropriate Flash Player version! There's a screen at the start that warns you if your version is outdated. If this screen appears *at all*, then you may (probably will) experience some bizarre saving problems. Updating your Flash Player prevents them.

Reviews


falkreonfalkreon

Rated 2 / 5 stars March 26, 2011

A definite improvement.

I must admit I hated the original. There is some polish in the new version. A tiny bit. It wasn't painful to play. Here's what still needs improvement:

The MIDI music is awful. Just awful. At the very least get a new sound bank/ sound font. Better yet, get in touch with one of the many good musicians here on Newgrounds. The art has a lot of inconsistency to it - some sprites, some vectors, some bitmaps, it feels very mashed together. Personally I like sprites and other kinds of very pixellated art, but above all you should decide what you're looking for in audience reaction. if you have a tablet, vector animation can be far superior because it's able to communicate a fluidity of motion and natural quality that only traditional animation can. Sprites are of course very forgiving of art talent and inspire a certain nostalgia in us. Photos should be a last resort I think, unless you're REALLY good.

What I liked about this version: There's no voice acting, and the change in fonts was a nice touch. The reactive abilities actually worked in this version, although the code still feels a bit sluggish in places. In my opinion the concept is quite good, but the writing is bad (yes, even for a scene made up by kids). Take a step back, decide on the theme you want this story to take. You'll be making a statement about just makes evil, Evil. Is it how people treat each other directly, in the karmic sense? Is it controlled by shadowy hands that nobody sees, lessening the blame of the people you fight and building a moral quandary about the nature of your fight? The details are less important, but you need a solid underlying story arc and I didn't catch that in this glimpse. It looks to be a shallow clone of Earthbound meets Mario RPG. I'll give it a 4/10 for huge improvement, but with the understanding that a deep and thoughtful clone of Earthbound and Mario RPG would be a 10 out of 10 any day.


People find this review helpful!

robbie66robbie66

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

awsome!...

this was to awsome on kongregate whens mardek 4 out...?



morgan10morgan10

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2011

???

I thought the dragon was the end ???



flameleafflameleaf

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 22, 2011

awsome

the old game was 6-stars but this new version definitely recieves 10-stars (btw: when you click the stats of the allies/enemies and look for weaknesses red numbers mean weakness and blue means less damage and green means healing)


People find this review helpful!

xXJoeCoolXxxXJoeCoolXx

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Oh, Bugger.

It stops loading at 85% for me! I love RPGs and things of the sort so I won't downrate it, but no ten for the simple fact that I can't play it. lol.
On the bright side... The loading screen looks good. =D


People find this review helpful!