Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:03 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 5th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!

Author Comments

EDIT: To all billion of you upset about the volume of the character "voices" compared to the actual song, send your complaints to the original creator of the song. I simply animated to the MP3 I had, and couldn't alter it in any way. There's nothing I could've done to change it, sorry.

This was a little idea I came up with practically on a whim last Sunday. I finished the whole thing in a little under a week, and I think it turned out pretty well. Back in 2004, a dude by the name of Martin Hagwell, also known as "Märta" made a song out of the BGM from the "Forest Maze" level from Super Mario RPG for the SNES. Just recently, he remixed the song he created into a full-fledged professional sounding song, titled "Rawest Forest". After finding the song by chance last weekend thanks to a YouTube video, I took a listen, and got the idea for this movie. Mario RPG is one of my absolute favorite games of ALL time, and I know it inside and out. Those who know the game as well as I do will catch all of the references scattered throughout the animation. I also used this as a test to try out some new little tricks with animation. The good majority of the movie is frame-by-frame, and yes, I know the drawings're a little crappy (I don't have a tabley, unfortunately), but I enjoyed working on it throughout my last full week of High School (YAY), and it doubled as the final for my animation class, so that's even better! Anyway, hope you enjoy it for what it is. I certainly had a ball.

Reviews


ExF0rceExF0rce

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

2 thumbs up

That was the best mario game ever. You portrayed it so well. Nice Job.


People find this review helpful!

PeptoNinjoPeptoNinjo

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

Brilliant Work! Very nicely done! ^^

F*ckin' awesome dude, this is great! The song, the artwork, and the whole animation was near perfect! The only thing I think can be improved is the artwork (Very very slightly:P). One again nice work.



sVirussVirus

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

onoes

Awesome, just found the song too.

someones gonna steal it thought, either ytmnd or youtube.
(damn them)

Hopefully that wont happen.



deadlyafrodudedeadlyafrodude

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

awsome

haha that was cool, very well done, i liked the whole odea of the mario RPG and all and the song and graphics were good too. that was very well done and was deffinetly entertaining. great ob on it, keep up the great work.



Neko-ArleNeko-Arle

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

Not bad.

I must say that I'm rather impressed, many subtle nuances, all of them easily picked up on, accompanied by an interestin' song and some decent, if goofy animation.

Also, bonus points for knowin' that Yoko Shimomura did the composition and arrangements of the game's music.