Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:03 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 5th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!

Author Comments

EDIT: To all billion of you upset about the volume of the character "voices" compared to the actual song, send your complaints to the original creator of the song. I simply animated to the MP3 I had, and couldn't alter it in any way. There's nothing I could've done to change it, sorry.

This was a little idea I came up with practically on a whim last Sunday. I finished the whole thing in a little under a week, and I think it turned out pretty well. Back in 2004, a dude by the name of Martin Hagwell, also known as "Märta" made a song out of the BGM from the "Forest Maze" level from Super Mario RPG for the SNES. Just recently, he remixed the song he created into a full-fledged professional sounding song, titled "Rawest Forest". After finding the song by chance last weekend thanks to a YouTube video, I took a listen, and got the idea for this movie. Mario RPG is one of my absolute favorite games of ALL time, and I know it inside and out. Those who know the game as well as I do will catch all of the references scattered throughout the animation. I also used this as a test to try out some new little tricks with animation. The good majority of the movie is frame-by-frame, and yes, I know the drawings're a little crappy (I don't have a tabley, unfortunately), but I enjoyed working on it throughout my last full week of High School (YAY), and it doubled as the final for my animation class, so that's even better! Anyway, hope you enjoy it for what it is. I certainly had a ball.

Reviews


netaddictfanboynetaddictfanboy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

Great!

I LOVE SUPER MARIO RPG! The song was good (if a bit hard to understand... I need to watch it again....) so I loved it! I'm adding this to my favorites! GODLY! And personally, I kind of liked the drawings, their highly cartoony look fit the game's tone (although I guess you wouldn't know that unless you played the game first :P)



DerFuhrerCrazianDerFuhrerCrazian

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

uh, what?

what? whaaat?! whaaaaat?! you need to crank up the voice and tune down the music so the quality will be nice



DnaDraxxusDnaDraxxus

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

Enjoyable

Not bad, classic but with an original twist. Graphics and animation are good. The only advice i can give you is to lower the song volume and raise the volume of the voices in some areas [especially the beginning]

~Dna


Kirbopher responds:

I would've, but the MP3 was mixed that way, so I wasn't able to mess with the volume of certain parts of the song in general.


XxPeanutxXXxPeanutxX

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

good job

no complaints about the video.
It just made me want to play that amazing game again...



TrillionageSproutTrillionageSprout

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

I do believe we have a winner.

Johnny, tell 'em what he's won!