Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:03 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 5th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!

Author Comments

EDIT: To all billion of you upset about the volume of the character "voices" compared to the actual song, send your complaints to the original creator of the song. I simply animated to the MP3 I had, and couldn't alter it in any way. There's nothing I could've done to change it, sorry.

This was a little idea I came up with practically on a whim last Sunday. I finished the whole thing in a little under a week, and I think it turned out pretty well. Back in 2004, a dude by the name of Martin Hagwell, also known as "Märta" made a song out of the BGM from the "Forest Maze" level from Super Mario RPG for the SNES. Just recently, he remixed the song he created into a full-fledged professional sounding song, titled "Rawest Forest". After finding the song by chance last weekend thanks to a YouTube video, I took a listen, and got the idea for this movie. Mario RPG is one of my absolute favorite games of ALL time, and I know it inside and out. Those who know the game as well as I do will catch all of the references scattered throughout the animation. I also used this as a test to try out some new little tricks with animation. The good majority of the movie is frame-by-frame, and yes, I know the drawings're a little crappy (I don't have a tabley, unfortunately), but I enjoyed working on it throughout my last full week of High School (YAY), and it doubled as the final for my animation class, so that's even better! Anyway, hope you enjoy it for what it is. I certainly had a ball.

Reviews


Blackbird-SycoBlackbird-Syco

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

You had a 9 instead of a 10 because...

You didn't include Johnathan "Johnny" Jones, the shark boss from the sunken ship.

However, awesome movie and it's on my favorites.

This is my favorite game on SNES and so far (until SSBB comes out for Wii.)

Very good.



yelkcubnwahsyelkcubnwahs

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

the sound needs to be louder, but awsome vid!

the music overpowered the song it self but from what i could hear, the song was perfectly about the game.



LadySuburuLadySuburu

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

Wow.

I loved this game when I played it, and this is an addicting flash lol. I actually may go play it soon because of you. O.o (I still have to beat a whole crapload of other games, and you make me go back to the old ones.) Oh well, Rapping Sword hehe. Nice animation on the princess btw.



MarioATWLinkMarioATWLink

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

*blows dust off SNES*

This flash brings back so many memories of Mario RPG. Ive allways loved that game and blame it for getting me in to RPGs. I have only played a few RPGs that I love as much as it (and a most of them are part of the mario series lol). I must say that now thanks to you Ill probaly go back and play through it yet again (thanks :p). Any ways I have to say that the animation was great and really fit the mood of the song. and I loved all the cameos of mario rpg characters. allso I heared this BG music for a long time the first time I played it so I could see how some one could make a song about it after awhile (lol). In the end you made a fantastic video. (lol just looked at my snes Super Mario RPG is still in it)



super-fat-mansuper-fat-man

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2007

Awsome!!!

i remember playing that game and beating it over 20 times..... i hope they put Geno in smash bros. brawl that would rule. Keep up the good work. and im a gaming god too lol god of any game except gay computer games...seriously... 0_0 hope u make more