Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:03 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 5th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!

Author Comments

EDIT: To all billion of you upset about the volume of the character "voices" compared to the actual song, send your complaints to the original creator of the song. I simply animated to the MP3 I had, and couldn't alter it in any way. There's nothing I could've done to change it, sorry.

This was a little idea I came up with practically on a whim last Sunday. I finished the whole thing in a little under a week, and I think it turned out pretty well. Back in 2004, a dude by the name of Martin Hagwell, also known as "Märta" made a song out of the BGM from the "Forest Maze" level from Super Mario RPG for the SNES. Just recently, he remixed the song he created into a full-fledged professional sounding song, titled "Rawest Forest". After finding the song by chance last weekend thanks to a YouTube video, I took a listen, and got the idea for this movie. Mario RPG is one of my absolute favorite games of ALL time, and I know it inside and out. Those who know the game as well as I do will catch all of the references scattered throughout the animation. I also used this as a test to try out some new little tricks with animation. The good majority of the movie is frame-by-frame, and yes, I know the drawings're a little crappy (I don't have a tabley, unfortunately), but I enjoyed working on it throughout my last full week of High School (YAY), and it doubled as the final for my animation class, so that's even better! Anyway, hope you enjoy it for what it is. I certainly had a ball.

Reviews


ViceFullbusterViceFullbuster

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 5, 2008

Gotta love Mario RPG.

Love to see the Mario RPG animated to a kool music video with the Forest theme,excellent job dude.


People find this review helpful!

sonickingsonicking

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 5, 2008

i say

awesome


People find this review helpful!

HyperDrachenHyperDrachen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 5, 2008

5'd!

I watched a friend of mine play mario RPG for about an hour but never played it myself...stand alone though this was awsome great work, I really dig the song. I couldnt possibly 5 this hard enough for enjoyment factor.



IRT3hShazbotIRT3hShazbot

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 5, 2008

Awesomes!

Super Mario RPG was my favorite game for the SNES, so loving this video wasn't hard at all.
I loved most of the animation, but there were a few places that could have used a little extra work. The art for Peach's solo was supurb. I almost cried!
The constant game references brought back waves of nostalgia, and the song was totally awesome! I APPROVE!



Michiru7Michiru7

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 5, 2008

sweet

I thought this was a really good song, and the animation was actually really good. Princess Peach (Or Toadstool, as she's called in the game) looked really well animated at her singing part.