Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:03 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 5th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!

Author Comments

EDIT: To all billion of you upset about the volume of the character "voices" compared to the actual song, send your complaints to the original creator of the song. I simply animated to the MP3 I had, and couldn't alter it in any way. There's nothing I could've done to change it, sorry.

This was a little idea I came up with practically on a whim last Sunday. I finished the whole thing in a little under a week, and I think it turned out pretty well. Back in 2004, a dude by the name of Martin Hagwell, also known as "Märta" made a song out of the BGM from the "Forest Maze" level from Super Mario RPG for the SNES. Just recently, he remixed the song he created into a full-fledged professional sounding song, titled "Rawest Forest". After finding the song by chance last weekend thanks to a YouTube video, I took a listen, and got the idea for this movie. Mario RPG is one of my absolute favorite games of ALL time, and I know it inside and out. Those who know the game as well as I do will catch all of the references scattered throughout the animation. I also used this as a test to try out some new little tricks with animation. The good majority of the movie is frame-by-frame, and yes, I know the drawings're a little crappy (I don't have a tabley, unfortunately), but I enjoyed working on it throughout my last full week of High School (YAY), and it doubled as the final for my animation class, so that's even better! Anyway, hope you enjoy it for what it is. I certainly had a ball.

Reviews


ChirigamiChirigami

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 16, 2009

Just great!

(Sorry if my English is weird, I don't speak English as my main language)
Yes, well, the drawings weren't AAAMAAAAAAZING, but come on, it's just a comedy animation, not a series or anything. The animation was really fluid and in synchro with the music. The game references were pretty funny although I didn't understand one I think...

You know, here in my country the SNES wasn't so promoted, and I was too young to play that, so I didn't know this game. Well, I heard "Nico Nico Douga Kumikyoku" which contains "Rawest Forest" among its many songs, so I had to found the original audio, then I got to this video (and from here to the original MP3). And then I got my SNES emulator and played this game. It's actually a really great game... I don't know why it isn't known in my country (Argentina, South America) Well, you have many reviews, I don't think you'll read mine, but, just in case: Thanks! You "made me" play this game!


People find this review helpful!

JETCAR223JETCAR223

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 14, 2009

outrageous song!!

Animation was a bit low key but hey, i think it added to the flash, the only problem with it i can ind is that there are some points where the vocals are so soft you can barely here them, otherwise it is catchy and i got hooked on it, i do believe you have over 1,000,000 hits on youtube so you have to be doing something right
9 frog coins


People find this review helpful!

11gunnar1111gunnar11

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 11, 2009

Good job!

Good job!!!!!! 10/10


People find this review helpful!

mario9fanmario9fan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 10, 2009

nice job Chris

somehow i can't keep up with the text, so can sum1 give subs?



aceofhartsaceofharts

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 10, 2009

that was

AMAZING!!!!!