Be a Supporter!

Newgrounds Rumble

Score:
rated 4.43 / 5 stars
Views:
9,670,616 Views
Share Links:
Genre:
Action - Fighting - VS
Tags:
newgrounds
pico
brawler
portalhistory2007

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 29, 2007 | 5:12 PM EDT
  • Frontpaged May 29, 2007
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2007
  • Daily Feature May 30, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Madness Games
    Madness Games Games based on the Madness universe by Krinkels!
  • Pico
    Pico Saving your school from gun-toting goth kids is just the tip of this iceburg!
  • Piconjo
    Piconjo If Pico is our Mario, Piconjo must be our Wario.
  • Salad Fingers
    Salad Fingers A strange cartoon about a creature who loves to touch rusty metal.
  • TANKMEN
    TANKMEN In the year of 20XX, the world has been destroyed. These guys are all that is left.

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hoarder Patrol 5 Points Snag the first three powerups in a match before anyone else has a chance to.
People Pancakes 5 Points Lure two or more opponents into the trash compactor during any battle in the Scrapyard.
C-C-Combo Breaker 10 Points Parry three times in one jump.
Wile E. Ways 10 Points Knock an opponent out of the ring three times in one match.
C-C-Combo Maker 25 Points Deliver at least 80 damage in one aerial combo.
Diplomatically Challenged 25 Points Complete all 12 challenges in Challenge Mode.
Meat Shield 25 Points Trick an opponent into killing one of their own teammates with a projectile.
Survival Horror 25 Points Survive at least 5 opponents in Survival Mode on OMFG difficulty.
Wall Street Brawler 25 Points Bank over 5000 Grounds Gold.
The Eventuallyending Story 50 Points Complete all 12 stories in Story Mode.
Transgressive Compulsive 100 Points Earn 100% Game Completion.
Message of Luff Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
15 Minutes of Fame Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Aug 3, 2009 - UPDATE - Medal fixes
If anyone has previously experienced the falling-through-the-floor bug, could they clear their caches, refresh, try again, and PM with the results? It'd be hugely appreciated and would get me closer to fixing that bug, if it isn't already with this new version. To make sure you're using the current version, go to options, then data, and look for the version number in the bottom left. It should be 1.55

July 29, 2009 - UPDATE - MEDALS
June 3rd, 2008 - UPDATE - BUG FIXES, TWEAKS
May 30th, 2008 - UPDATE - NG AWARD, FANCY PANTS ADDED, BIRTHDAY
September 28th, 2007 - UPDATE - bug fixes
September 22nd, 2007 - UPDATE - Hank and Nevada added
September 17th, 2007 - UPDATE - improvements + bug fixes

In production since December 2005, this hefty s.o.b. has taken a small handful of Newgrounders a lot of work to put together. So you guys had better enjoy it!
Take a moment to configure the options to suit your control style and computer processor.

Reviews


ArborescenceArborescence

Rated 5 / 5 stars

I have constantly argued in favor of games not being mere entertainment. When they are really good, they are pieces of art and this is by far one of the best games on Newgrounds.

Regardless of the Flash programming, Newgrounds Rumble enjoys one of the fastest-responding controls I have ever seen around this website. Despite its apparent simplicity, with a little practice, one is able to combine the quickly triggered combos into longer sequences which is virtually impossible in games such as The Perfect Fighter which have more "sophisticated" and therefore more cucumbersome controls. The ability to chop combos up (that is, to be able to stop a 3-hit combo in its second hit, for example) gives the player the ability to connect several small combo pieces into longer sequences. One of my very favorites is to do a 2-hit crouch normal attack and the complete crouch-fierce combo finishing it up with a 3-hit air fierce attack with Nene. A massive combo made possible only by the sensitive and fast-responding controls of this game. There's only one thing that bothers me regarding the controls of this game. The tutorial section fails to mention that whenever the player presses any attack button immediately after defending, a crouch attack is triggered. A trick one learns only through playing.

The characters are indeed very well-balanced in Story Mode and the stories presented in the beginning of each fight give them a very special flavour. But in Versus we have a completely different scenario. Salad Fingers, Piconjo, Alloy and Hank are permanent underdogs in battles which contain the likes of Pico, Nene, Alien Hominid and Fancy Pants. I managed to get a flawless victory in OMFG difficulty with Nene and a 710 damage dealt mark with Alien Hominid but I can barely get a single kill with Salad Fingers or a large combo with Convict. I recognize the reality that some people might be able to play these aforementioned characters with marvellous ease and dexterity but I find them facing greater difficulties on Versus mode from the get go.

Also, profiles often omit a few of the more interesting aspects of each fighter. Examples are: Hank's profile mentions correctly that his parries don't stun but fails to communicate that he has the best parry of the whole game (the one with D). I managed to get a 99+ parry combo with him. Also he seems to be able to get a "Projectile" pickup when breaking an air combo or by pressing D in the middle of an enemy's combo. The fact that Nene's projectiles are the most damaging remains also an unmentioned feature in her profile and Alien Hominid is the only character that is able to aim his projectiles upwards and, personally, I think that Tankman should have been granted the "poor projectile" defect rather than Piconjo. Only one more thing about characters: it's not very clear how lower than average some of the characters' health really is. Compare Alien Hominid's, Alloy's and Salad Fingers' descriptions.

Overall this is one the nicest things I have ever seen as far as gaming goes. Not only because of its incredible interface but also because of the characters involved. The "Other appearances" section is one of the things that makes this game unique. I watched (among others) the Madness and the Salad Fingers Series and played Madness Accelerant and Fancy Pants adventure because of that section. Given that I'm relatively new to Newgrounds I am thrilled that I have been redirected to such a great content through this game. As I said in the beginning, this is not only a great game, but it is a masterpiece in its hommage to the wonderful people who make Newgrounds what it really is.


Lots of people find this review helpful!
NegativeONE responds:

Wow, the kinda review I look forward to. Lots of thoughts and fair points. I'll go through a bunch in pointform to help bring some light to them.

- launching into a crouch attack when coming out of a block is an admitted oversight - good eye! It was noticed sometime after release, but the game is too old to touch now. It'll just be a lesson in my programming journey.
- certain characters are pretty weak to others, I agree, but I think this is a natural side effect of varied character styles, and even a good thing. Slow characters can be tough to use in this one, particularly Salad Fingers and Tankman. Just gotta use that range and power to your advantage, tricky as it is.
- I still insist that Hank's parries not stunning *is* a downside, and that it's only made useful by the bonuses it provides instead, which are mentioned briefly in his pros. This is where that phantom projectile pickup is coming from.
- Nene's projectile is valued lowly because it is slow and uni-directional, while Tankman's is valued highly because it has a large area of effect and can hit an enemy multiple times in one go. Very useful is you use it on a nice flat piece. Keep in mind that you can steer it left and right.
- In the event of a sequel, we may actually print the numerical HP for each character, for those who like to really get into the stats.

Glad you used the 'Other Appearances' links. Giving newer users a few bookmarks in NG's awesome library was exactly our hope. Thanks again for the detailed review, I appreciate it and it elates me that the old pooch is still finding new fans 7 years in.


Zander253Zander253

Rated 5 / 5 stars

I play this game every time I am on here this game is awesome in every aspect of the word


People find this review helpful!

BiningonzamaldagooBiningonzamaldagoo

Rated 5 / 5 stars

Whenever I go on Newgrounds, I always need to play this game. I can never get enough. It's addictive, amusing, exciting, and fun.

Fancy pants, Hank, and Alien Hominid are my favorite.

Convict and Hanks stories were the hardest, but with enough practice I was able to beat them.


People find this review helpful!

frekman60frekman60

Rated 5 / 5 stars

piconjo is my power in this game



pwnage1068536pwnage1068536

Rated 5 / 5 stars

HANKS ENDING IS IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!!!!!!