Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 29, 2007 | 10:53 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 1, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place May 2, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Pico Day 2007
    Pico Day 2007 The second annual day dedicated to celebrating Pico!

Author Comments

Merry Pico Day! Wait, did I get that right? Oh, and sorry about the file size, but we did a LOT of frame-by-frame in this cartoon.
*(Thanks for the Daily 1st, Newgrounds! This means a lot to us on Pico Day!)*

Pico gets mixed up in a trans- temporal-dimensional adventure.

Enjoy! By Julian and Swain.
Additional voices by Andy Dennis.
Music by The Swain.

Reviews


Hamy-jamyHamy-jamy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 30, 2007

Liked

The thing i was most impressed by with this flash was the atmosphere you were able to build when pico discovered the time tank, it was dark, the tank was shining gold and you had that great music in the background, it really was cinematic. The fight with the captain on the pirate ship was very well animated and stood out as the best scene to me. I loved your lighting and shading effects throughout, it really brought a classy feel to this. The monty python shout out at the end there was great as well. Overall i thought this was really well done.

~H-J~



squeakytoadsqueakytoad

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 30, 2007

One of the best Pico submissions I've seen so far.

Both of you, Toonimated and Swain, have always been quite talented at laying out a story, even in your randomness. Too many submissions around here lack any sort of continuity. This is mostly due to the fact that these animators neglect the significance of having thoroughly planned out what you're creating before you create it.
I enjoyed that about this movie.
However, it drags. Unfortunately, I found myself tinkering with stuff off-screen while this was playing at parts, which is never a good sign. Parts are lacking. Some scenes just didn't keep me stimulated because of lack of happenings.
A little less walk, a little more action, please.

The animation and art, oh how I loved them. You both did well.
Was smooth MOST of the time. And the art was generally well-done.
Unfortunately, as I've noticed with several Pico submissions, parts seem unpolished. One too many moments where I thought "Uh oh, that animation didn't look right" or "His face looks a lot crappier in this frame than it did two seconds ago".

Both the plot and the animation seemed somewhat rushed.

But don't get me wrong; this was excellent. It could've been better, but all movies can.

One last thing. You might want to get yourself a better set of sound effects. Often putting out a few hundred dollars to get yourself a twenty-disc sound effect collection is worth it when you're doing stuff on this level.

Loved it. Lucky Tom is getting all these for his birthday.

Happy Pico Day.

-st


The-Swain responds:

The slowest moment in the 'toon, aside from the intro and conclusion, is probably when Pico first arrives at the pirate ship. He's not fighting them off tooth and nail as he falls from the sky, but 3 minutes and 40 seconds of animating straight action is so taxing on our need to be "storytellers" that we had to slip a modicum of character development in there :) Naturally, this is out of place in an action cartoon, but hey, what can ya do?

And I'm sure you'll forgive us on the changing nature of Pico's artwork. We didn't animate the whole thing in chronological order, and as this is the first time either of us has animated this character, improvements and mistakes were to be expected over time.

Also, large investments in software come after we make the money to buy it, not before :)

Thanks for another review, ST :D I must now go and review today's other Pico submissions too.


HooglyBooglyHooglyBoogly

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 30, 2007

Fantastic

Excellent, excellent job guys. The graphics were excellent and ya'll thankfully didn't play some random song throughout the entire flash. You actaully including sound effects. I'll make sure to visit your website!



Yoshi-1upYoshi-1up

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 30, 2007

Pico is a pimp!

Yes, this is the best Pico submission so far 8)

You guys rock!

VISIT TOONIMATED YOU BITCHES OR I'LL VISIT IT FOR YOU! >:(

...wait

duno



fishhookfishhook

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 30, 2007

I LOVE THE-SWAIN!

ummm... i guessing daily first and frontpage?


The-Swain responds:

I don't know, that depends on you guys :D Thanks for noticing our cartoon though!