Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 29, 2007 | 10:53 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 1, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place May 2, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Pico Day 2007
    Pico Day 2007 The second annual day dedicated to celebrating Pico!

Author Comments

Merry Pico Day! Wait, did I get that right? Oh, and sorry about the file size, but we did a LOT of frame-by-frame in this cartoon.
*(Thanks for the Daily 1st, Newgrounds! This means a lot to us on Pico Day!)*

Pico gets mixed up in a trans- temporal-dimensional adventure.

Enjoy! By Julian and Swain.
Additional voices by Andy Dennis.
Music by The Swain.

Reviews


214shadow335214shadow335

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 30, 2007

WOOT! COOl! WOOT!

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT! THE MOVIES REALLY COOL!



Evilbottom1Evilbottom1

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2007

Amazing

Very good flash, awesome story, and funny ending.



wizardmanwizardman

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 26, 2007

Super amazing (~4096 characters)

Alright, I finally got around to reviewing this great Swain flash known as Pico’s Time Tank. Just to start at the beginning, quite fun being able to smash that guy with the shovel while I waited for it to load. The title screen shows up, and the black and white scrolling images were pretty cool, though the lack of a scene select for later was disappointing.

We start off in the city, and the way the buildings look is just great against the overcast sky. Pico uncovers this tank, and he is apparently sent back in time. Pico appears in a cave, and a giant monster is ready to fight him. The close ups of the monster were just great, actually made Pico kinda look like an average animation job. A nice fight scene, with some great aerodynamics when Pico falls, then of course, the necessary violence, and the quite humorous tagging, rounded this out as Pico left. We’re back in the city, and after sound being lacking in the flash thus far, we get to hear Swain’s original soundtrack, yay. In what’s arguably my personal favorite area, Pico dons a trench coat and goes to work, shooting wolves as they show up. Of course, the animation is extremely compelling, with the bullets falling, the blood spilling, and the like. Of course, Pico getting the girl has to be thrown in, and that was done very well, much like one probably would see in an action movie. The back flip on the wall was just sweet, and then Pico disappears into the night, or shoots away.

And then comes in what all great flashes should have; pirates. Yup, you send him on a pirate ship, a well made one with a catchy tune, may I add. Then, in an almost Blockhead-esque style of enjoyment, he starts carving up the pirates on board. The pirate scenes are so fast and compelling with the swords that I almost had to change it to low quality so it would keep on going. Still, the guy getting kicked by Pico and his eyes shooting out of their sockets, wow. Super graphics, slow motion, those 2 seconds had it all. The massive blood spilling continued, of course, since everyone loved violence. A pile of dead bodies, and I believe I see Alien Hominid there too, unless I’m mistaken. Pico’s in a sword fight with the captain, and we get to see some voice acting, which has been missing, although there was nowhere to put it until now. It was such a great sword fighting scene, so what does Pico do? Give the captain a grenade and bolt away. And yes, I saw Blockhead being killed by that grenade as well, or maybe a prototype version of him. Or maybe it is him, I can’t tell with his new outfit. Anyway, bye bye them. Pico has quite an interesting expression about what that tank did and..... splat.

Well, there’s a way of going out with a bang, no? Or in this case a splat, it kind of ended the flash quickly. I was actually a little disappointed when the flash ended that quickly. I think he could’ve squeezed in another spot. Then again, with how full and great the graphics were it would’ve been tough to throw in another one anyway. Still, this flash was just amazing. It was obviously one of the best Pico Day flashes to reach Newgrounds. But now for a wee bit of criticism. It felt almost kinda weird how this tank just happened to warp him to a few places and bring him back, which was a little bit confusing. Second of all, I was wondering, was the city he was in fighting everyone the same one as the one he found the tank? If that is the case then that’s rather interesting in itself. But you know, I won’t harp on that kind of stuff, this was meant to be a fun flash to watch, and not one to over think about. Then again, I’m not a Pico expert, so this could certainly be realistic for his sense, who knows. Still, the graphics were superb to say the least, had a realistic feel to them, felt like watching a TV animation or the like. Loved the music and the sound, albeit there wasn’t too much of it for a while. Super animation, just the right amount of blood and carnage, and overall just a super flash. Sure, there’s some nitpicking, but it really is 10-worthy. Now, hopefully I’ll get a response from you Swain.


People find this review helpful!
The-Swain responds:

Haha, another essay from the Wiz :D

That was pretty observant of you about the city/time travel element. Was the city with the wolves the same as the one with the tank? This is something we thought about when we were ordering the scenes, since the three time zones could have happened in any order. We put the "Underworld" scene right in the middle so that there was no confusing city-to-city transitions. Even the moons and sky were different, showing that it wasn't the same time period. As for whether or not it is actually the same city, then all I can say is "probably".

And as for the problem of Pico finding a tank that kind of pops him around and then brings him home again without any real purpose or solution, then my answer is the same one I have for most questions in my life: Flux Capacitor.

Glad you liked it so much, and I hope to have you back for another review when Blockhead 9 is out :D


ChainsawbunniesChainsawbunnies

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2007

nICE

This was a great flash
a great addition to pico day
awesome work
i liked it a lot.
keep up the good work



ClearSabreClearSabre

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 19, 2007

very nice

that was well worth the wait. very entertaining flash. the graphics were awesome. nice humor in there, lol. especially when he's in the middle of battle and he just grabs the girl and locks lips. classy. nice vid man.