Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 11, 2007 | 6:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 12, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!

Author Comments

Note: A lot of people don't seem to release the script is not meant to be taken seriously...

Runtime - Aprox.14 minutes, so make sure you got the time to watch!

Finally I am able to present to you... Mario's Revenge: Second Edition.

It has been in development since march 2005, so that is about 25 months of work (on and off) It is actually a remake of my whole Mario's Revenge series which i released about 4 years back.

The story may be kind of strange, but that was also in the originals, so I can't help it :P

I really hope you will enjoy it. Took me a shitload of time.

ENJOY!

Reviews


AngellordAngellord

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 12, 2007

Alrighty... I'm gonna put some effort into this

You put effort into your work, the least I can do is put effort into my review.

The graphics, technique, scaling, and song choices (for the most part) were fantastic and well done. When I am having trouble keeping up with a flash not because it is outpacing me, but in sheer size, that means the author has taken time to fully detail what he wishes the audience to see. Mario falling through the stone while it tumbled after him was a fantastic sight to behold. The paper mario look was well done, and there was little rush job through a significant portion of them film.

Now, I really don't want to do this because it's obvious that you put obscene effort into this, but I want to be honest.

The story is one of the most unoriginal, hackneyed, cliched pieces of tripe that would make any preteen boy giggle with excitement. You featured random rotations, ripped from a significant portions of the matrix world, dbz world, portions of sephiroth's character and the sheer randomness that is the second bill and ted adventure movie. In your copyright notices, you should mention that parts of this plot is owned by their respective studios.

If I remember correctly, the original was broken up into parts, all of which I watched (I never reviewed them though) and I watched until the final scene, resigning myself to the fact that mario would not be returning in any meaningful capacity.

This shows in the SE. The problem is the flash sometimes takes itself way too seriously (by serious, please refer to the levels of preteen boy) and at other times, it would make wholly innappropriate jokes for the movie (once again, reference). Kirby came and went, and I don't even think he served as a plot device, but rather a poor attempt at a cameo.

*****SPOILERS*********
The clocks. You're a clock right? Or were? Well, at any rate, I'll just assume you are. I'm just tired of the whole concepts that are commonly associated with clocks. Clock hating, clock violence, the stereotype that clocks produce inferior flashes (Slightly off-topic, but that group has been replaced by KK). I'm perfectly fine with a clock theme, slightly goofy characters doing their own thing. Like sticks, or sprites, or the Madness characters. Easy to do, easy to replicate, allows for quicker production of story pieces. Where unfortunately this flash lacks at. You just lost it, right with the whole father, mother, brother thing, and the end fight. It was floundering at its finest. This wasn't Mario's Revenge, this was Mario's Revenge, then CLOCKFIGHT.
******END SPOILERS******

I guess, the thing that gets me, is I know this is a story from four years ago. You were younger. Less skilled. All the cliche and tripe could be something your not ever going to do again. But why reuse the old script? It was interesting in the beginning, mundane in the middle, and rushed at the end. You put such effort into recreating that original flash, that could have been better spent elsewhere. You could have created a series. Hell, a movie of higher caliber. But you chose to put the ugly girl into the prettiest prom dress you could! It's unfortunate.

But please, please, please, continue making flashes. I know I just trashed your entire movie from beginning to end, and once again, I apologize. You have definite skill and talent, it just needs to be directed, either by yourself, or a friend going over your script as a "proof of concept". You're great. However, I see this movie as a bad mistake you just chose to go all the way through with.

That's it, I'm done.

P.S. You forgot to add bowser to the owned by nintendo copyright I believe.

Now I'm done.


People find this review helpful!
GAMECUBICLE responds:

Hey there. Thanks for the long review, but let me clear some things up:

I am not a clock myself, never will be.
As you said before. It is a re-use of a old script, and you are right.
But I just wanted to re-do the series as it is. I just always kinda liked it, mainly because the originals were my first good flash movies (if you look back they were kinda bad though)
But it is more or like some kind of a tribute to those.

And all the weird things in the movie, are more or less just spoofs. Like the father thing, start wars, the hair, dbz, the clocks... well... clocks, the tatoos in the end, naruto.
Everything just relys on big clich├ęs. Just as I had in mind when creating the originals.

But point is just, that when i started this movie, it was 2005, i was way less skilled at that time (most of my better work came after that time)
So i didn't yet care about the story that much. But it is indeed not a kind of movie I would start to make nowadays, I was 15 or something when the originals were made, and im 19 now, so kinda grew out of it.

But be sure to see more work from me in the future :)
I am going to start on a new game soon, and after that going to work on Ultimate Tutorial cs3

Anyways, thanks for the long review, i prefer that you also put out the weak points in the movie, cause I can learn from those. If people only point out the strong parts of the movie it is nice for me to hear, but it won't teach me anything.

Well, good day to you :)


herbiethepimpherbiethepimp

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 13, 2007

im really sorry but in my personal opinion

it was kind of a bit of a 5 year olds story book tale, that had a horrible plot. heres some tips
1. If your doing a clocks flash, dont, and i mean dont mix it with real characters, that just makes the movie anoyying, but for you case, even worse a flash where all the characters are really clocks.
2. do not add dragonball z to anything but dragon ball z, because that does not make your flash look cool, it makes it look pointless to watch, and i have seen thousands of thoose kinds and they all piss me and alot of others off.
3. your upside was your graphics they were awsome, and you had a few good songs, but the ending one SUCKED!.
4.your preloader could have been interactive,. but at least you had one.
5.i liked the kirby part, and mario, but hated the no plot addition of crusty dragon ballz and clocks please dont do that, or never and i mean NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER make a cartoon with a romantic ending, it sucks as a non cartoon, and makes your ending, what people see last look horrible.



RhinojoRhinojo

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 28, 2008

SONG IN PART 5

What is the name of the song in part 5??? its the battle song.. i can't figure it out.. dang

-Rhinojo



cornholieo1cornholieo1

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 12, 2007

Stright 7's man

Dude nice but a suggestion...........lay off the LSD & PCP it will really get to you and fuck you up i seen my friends make a flash on LSD it's no were near good........but that was still pretty good so i give it straight 7's



alphacommandoalphacommando

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 13, 2007

errr... could i say interesting?

lol well it was good ill give you that but i didnt really understand any of the clock business. anyhow the music was great and i think i picked up some of the jokes. there is one thing that i didnt like and that is how luigi is always the evil one, arnt mario and luigi brothers like seriously, lol . anyway good music fairly good graphics i give it 7/10 in other words not bad!