Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


elgato1elgato1

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

Awesome!!

This Duck takes me back to Howard the Duck movie. Very nicely done. It's the best I've seen so far.



ViperMaskViperMask

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 8, 2007

Awesome

Throwback is a fucking great series and it has just started! Keep making them and keep up the good work!!!!!!!!!



chocobowzchocobowz

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2007

Niice animation

Impressed, its smooth and not only is the animation good, but the music you used was great for the atmosphere you were trying to show. The humour was great, extremely good for not having to have anything bad. You make the characters very interesting
I must say it improved alot. Keep up the good work...



MonodiMonodi

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 9, 2007

A true masterpiece.

This review goes to both A and B.

Beautiful work fuys, congratulations on Larsen for his animation and graphic quality and Gornoski for a great script.

We rarely recieve content this impressive. The humor was very nice, something like what more series need to have. The use of characters was fitting good in the story, the scary asian guy was... well scary, hehe. Bobcat is a good charcter, I have very vague memories of it but I still remember it.

I love the point you use a lot of content related to the 80's, I bet that were great times. Also using old-school videogame characters is perfect, I have a lot of respect to the old fashioned Nintendo games that sculped different styles we see today.

Anyway, in resume: Good movie, style, effects, voice acting, everything.

I hope you keep this stories going guys! Good luck.



StalagmiteStalagmite

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 12, 2009

Dont make any more!

IF YOU MAKE ONE MORE EPISODE MY HEAD WILL EXPLODE FROM AWESOMENESS.... OH! sorry, where talking past times arent we.... My mind will explode from Cajunga Radicalness. LOL. AND I WUV BUBSY! i had it for playstation though. and the guy below is right. im sorry but the voice acting is a bit sucky. but i think that the ducks voice suits him. you could perhaps stop pausing between each word? fluidity makes the pace, and pace makes it more exciting. Oh! and i thought... that duck looks like another one from a film... i forget his name? began with a "h". i think. :D once again. YOU ARE WOWZA!


People find this review helpful!