Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


r-17r-17

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 7, 2007

Can't wait to see where this goes

I like the fact that, with a fair degree of cartoon and gaming things worked in, this is a real, genuine bona fide storyline, with characters, a degree of depth in them, and a humor in all the right places. There's a few parts where things are a little campy, but hey, he's a duck. And he's hailing from the early gaming era; the same bundle of time that brought us Ewoks, talking bears, gremlins, and who knows what else. For the most part, this is much more like watching a movie than a cartoon since it has direction in it. I can't wait to see what happens with the fallen star.

The characters are cool. Throwback is very cool. The drawings & animation are superb. Excellent work!



LiquidSapphireLiquidSapphire

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2007

Awesome!

This was an awesome flash! Especially the graphics and the voice-acting. I thought the beginning was funny. Then it got a little worse with the humor. This was very original and the idea was very good. I guess I'll watch the next part. Overall 10.



FrenchBreadPizzaFrenchBreadPizza

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

TB

I was looking forward to this after seeing the first when it came out. And when I first saw the dog at the beginning, I recognized that as the dog from Arthur's other animation, Bones. One of my true favorites.

Anyway there's nothing else I can say that hasn't already been said. Animation and production is true pro, TB's voice is still weak and should be changed all together. But I'm gonna 5/5 this anyway because it's still one of the best things I've seen this year on NG.



ThermanTherman

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

great stuff :)

this will probably get it's own collection soon ;) and i must say that i think it's awesome that you work with a Norwegian guy cause i am Norwegian myself :D this could be on TV so keep up the good work!



GruntManGruntMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 10, 2007

Very original and very nicely done

Great. Simply great. Do continue with the story.