Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


thejordanthejordan

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 14, 2007

Its great animation

its great but the voice just doesnt really seem to fit throwback its kinda wierd and at some times annoying like it takes him forever to finish a sentence it seems and then he has no emotion to it either..... but good work on everything else



rockymikerockymike

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

Good, but room for improvement.

This flash is good, but if not for the outstanding artwork, I don't think it could stand on its own two feet. The pacing is too slow and the voice acting leaves something to be desired. Throwback sounds like he's doing his best William Shatner impersonation, and I couldn't understand a word the bird thing was saying. I like where the story is going though and I don't know why you had to break it into two parts (the combined filesize was small enough to fit in one submission (unless you hit the frame limit)).
Anyhow, in conclusion, It's a good series, just needs some of the fat cut out of it. I'm sure it'll be a little easier to do in future episodes as you are still trying to introduce characters and plot elements. I'm sorry if this seems too harsh, that's just some of the thoughts I had while watching. Don't get me wrong, I'll watch every episode you throw at us.
Laters.


People find this review helpful!

RadioactiveRebelRadioactiveRebel

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 9, 2007

Howard The Duck...eat your heart out!!!

I don't know why, but this character, Throwback, reminds me of Howard The Duck. Its an old 80s or early 90s movie. Some people may remeber it, others not.

Anyway, good work! I love the storyline and it definitely brings something new to Newgrounds. Good job and best of luck with the series.



Flying-ToasterFlying-Toaster

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 9, 2007

Love the series but...

For GOD'S SAKE change the voice actor for Throwback or atleast get him better audio equipment. His stupid pauses after every two words are irritating to no end!


People find this review helpful!

DoctorObscureDoctorObscure

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 26, 2011

WAAAAAHT!!!

A throwback duck that wears pants!!! BLASPHEMY!!!!!!!

....well...at least it looks like he's gonna have a human girlfriend....an the attitude's spot on! soooo....8/10 5/5.