Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


AtomicTerroristAtomicTerrorist

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2007

That was amazing

I Loved the style of animation and the animation flowed perfectly. i cant wait for the rest of the episodes.
Keep it up!



slingsratslingsrat

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 5, 2007

Sublime

Faultless animation and excellent use of Flash's drawing tools. I guess this story is for kids because it didn't hold my attention for long but you get a 5 for including a Yazoo song.



HeinrichHeinrich

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 21, 2007

Excellent

GOOD: I must say, you are a very good artist and animator. The graphics make it look like a cartoon that can be seen on television with all the detail and such. The animation was incredibly smooth especially with the movements and the sound synching at top notch quality. The sounds and music were professional sounding and the character voices were well suited.

I especially liked the appearance of Bubsy. He brought memories of my friend and I playing his game on Nintendo years ago.

BAD: None

IMPROVEMENT: None

OVERALL: A really well made flash cartoon that could be seen on television. You did a fantastic job on this piece of art.



WegraWegra

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

Oh yeah!

Dude that was awesome! It almost sounded like an actual movie! I cant wait for part 2! keep up the good work!



3dgE3dgE

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 14, 2007

thats a doozie

great idea for this flash. i loved all the classic nintendo characters and i cant wait to see what you've done with them. the one i would love to see the most is Fox McCloud from Starfox 64. if you can do it in the near future, that would be great. great work on the flash.now im going to see part b of this episode