Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at [email protected]

Reviews


jonwashjonwash

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 16, 2007

Pretty smart looking.

Brilliant graphics, brilliant animation. Good sound, though I couldn't always understand Throwback the Duck too well.
The story is a little slow, it seemed to take forever to explain anything. But it's pretty damn cool, especially for newgrounds.



joepan22joepan22

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 16, 2007

too long

If you just stop the animation after the duck kicked the dog I would have given it a higher grade
but it was too long to be enjoyable, I closed it down after the retard bird talked for 2 minutes.



GrayFox679GrayFox679

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 15, 2007

It's Odd... But I like It

It's really pretty good. Not so expected in the stuff that's been shoved down our throats in these recent days. Throwback's voice is eccentric enough to throw me off from what I thought it would be, and I like that quite a bit. The style works well with that whole feel for an unexplored area of flash entertainment. Very original. I must say, though, the woman he meets in the lobby, that... upper-management type (I forgot her name, if it was mentioned) has a very familiar voice. Kudos, nonetheless.



triforcemastertriforcemaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2007

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTTTT!!!
!!!

Im gonna watch part 1B right now. Make more episodes yall.



chocobowzchocobowz

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2007

Niice animation

Impressed, its smooth and not only is the animation good, but the music you used was great for the atmosphere you were trying to show. The humour was great, extremely good for not having to have anything bad. You make the characters very interesting
I must say it improved alot. Keep up the good work...