Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at [email protected]

Reviews


r-17r-17

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 7, 2007

Can't wait to see where this goes

I like the fact that, with a fair degree of cartoon and gaming things worked in, this is a real, genuine bona fide storyline, with characters, a degree of depth in them, and a humor in all the right places. There's a few parts where things are a little campy, but hey, he's a duck. And he's hailing from the early gaming era; the same bundle of time that brought us Ewoks, talking bears, gremlins, and who knows what else. For the most part, this is much more like watching a movie than a cartoon since it has direction in it. I can't wait to see what happens with the fallen star.

The characters are cool. Throwback is very cool. The drawings & animation are superb. Excellent work!



LogoLogo

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

ZZzzzzzz

I've read through some of the reviews, just to make sure I'm not alone on this one, and sure enough, I'm not...

You've got GREAT artistic talent...but I could barely watch this flick because it was just so dry...The voice for the duck isn't all that good, and there just seems to be little "feeling" behind anything. I mean, great job on daily first, but I yawned and X'd out the window before much could happen.

Here's to matching your amazing animating skill, with some actual entertaining storyline...hopefully you can do it someday, I'm sure it'll be great stuff...sadly, this was not.


People find this review helpful!

kingocornkingocorn

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

wow

that was pretty neat. i think i will watch all of your episodes...like right now....



TheBigLobeTheBigLobe

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

Wonderful!

I loved the prologue of the series and I loved this episode too. The artwork is fantastic and I'm sure you're having as much fun animating it as the watchers are watching it. There were a couple of scenes that just seemed to strike me as odd though, such as the escalator. It looked as though it was going backwards at one poing when they were going up. Maybe it's just me.

But the small detail humor is what got me. Especially the shirt at the back of the van! I nearly fell out of my chair!

Great movie/episode. Looking forward to more of your works.



RWappinRWappin

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 6, 2007

Zzzzzzz.

Alright, let's start out with one of the good things first. The drawings and art itself were really great, and the animator obviously has a lot of talent in that category. Still, although everything is pretty to look at, the whole flash is completely devoid of any personality. This was honestly one of the blandest animations I've ever seen.

Maybe the story does need work, but that's not the main thing I feel is bringing this series down. The characters themselves just have nothing likable about them, they are just so empty and lifeless. No emotion in the facial expressions, and the voice acting was also quite bad.

The best part was definitely the backgrounds, which were awesome. I found it much more entertaining just to stare at them then pay attention to whatever was going on.


People find this review helpful!