Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


SganarelleSganarelle

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

Promising

i like the prospect of a character going back and examining old school game icons from the 80's and 90's, and best of all, the main character is a retro duck! i like the idea of all this. just think about it! he'll be talking to Dynamite Headdy, Bugsy Bobcat, Rocket Knight, all those guys lost to time! this could be a very kool series!



Woods-houseWoods-house

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG

This is incredible! The most original flash ever! This thing ties with Pico's unloaded! The originality is unbelievable. How did you think this up?! If i was'nt as smart as i am, i would of mistaken this for a full length Disney movie! The graphics are incredible for something made on flash! This has a great futre of being a tv show or a movie! ;)



Just-JakeJust-Jake

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

Nice look, poor content

I'd have to agree with the other reviews. Your animation and graphics are nice, and so was the music. Other than that, things are pretty mediocre. The only good voice was Ms Whatever. Everything else seemed too quiet. As the review below me stated, Throwback definitely needs some voice acting lessons.

The jokes in particular seemed lackluster. Please get a person with a decent sense of humor review your jokes. S/he needs to laugh for the joke to be put in. Otherwise, it makes a fool of your nice little toon. Maybe you could try to brand your humor to be more like The Office.

Good start.


People find this review helpful!

RitalyRitaly

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

Good Animation

But I hate Throwback's voice. It just doesn't work for me - everything else is 100% professional except for that voice. I wouldn't really suggest changing it in this stage of the game, but maybe some voice acting lessons? His voice seems flat and whispered like you didn't want to wake someone up when recording them.

To sum it all up - Throwback's voice needs more ZAZZ!

Otherwise - a very solid job.


People find this review helpful!

muchcoolerthanumuchcoolerthanu

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

yea

i been waiting for this, bad=throwback sounds retarded now. good=the girls have mini skirts GGG but nonetheless im disapointed