Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


FrenchBreadPizzaFrenchBreadPizza

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

TB

I was looking forward to this after seeing the first when it came out. And when I first saw the dog at the beginning, I recognized that as the dog from Arthur's other animation, Bones. One of my true favorites.

Anyway there's nothing else I can say that hasn't already been said. Animation and production is true pro, TB's voice is still weak and should be changed all together. But I'm gonna 5/5 this anyway because it's still one of the best things I've seen this year on NG.



BaconneggsBaconneggs

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

Very nice

Smoothly animated, well drawn, okay storyline, very nice music sync,

one thing bugs me though.... The way he told is fucking annoying as hell



MozteckaMoztecka

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

Foul hehe Foul

Nice Work But, I was gonna give you a 9...
But the power glove Supports +1 Pimpnuss



kasper238kasper238

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

Awsome Flash Series

Awsome altogether , but whats that songs name played in the beginning?



TheThingTheThing

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 11, 2007

Awesome

This is a really great flash, and a great flash
series, and I hope it continues to get better in each
episode. It may seem as though I'm comparing you to
Brackenwood and others from Adam Phillips, But that's
because this could rival Brackenwood for the best
series on Newgrounds.

Graphics: Not much to say here, besides that it rival
Adam Phillips for the best art on Newgrounds! Every
thing is in great detail, from the pens and calender
on the desk, to the feather's on Throwback's head,
it's well illustrated.

Animation: Great animation, although sometimes you
shirked on it, i.e. walking into the Nintendo Now
building and waiting in line at the shopping market.
Other than that, though, it was smooth and fluent. I
know that it's hard work to work on a flash, but
still, spend some time on making it as great as it can
be.

Sound: Good acting, but sometimes it could be hard to
hear Throwback because the recording was too soft. But
everything had great sound effects, and there was some
great music playing in the background, which fit each
mood perfectly.

Humor: Hilarious, from Throwback kicking that dog into
the river, to the Steven Hawkings-type bird. I would have liked to see more humor in it, and the parts that were supposed to be funny (Looking at you, scene where Throwback walks into the building and sees the beautiful girl) didn't strike me as funny, whether or not I got the hidden parody of a movie in there.