Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


cubekoucubekou

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

Cool!

I find this to be an awesome series! This is undenably interesting and I can't wait for future episodes!



DiphalliaDiphallia

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

Nice animation

I must say it's really nice animated, could be better though, as everything else. The using of fbf sometimes and just tweening the rest of the times really works, if you do it like this. One thing that i think was bad is the story, it has no flow and you easely get bored, maybe part B is funnier and has a better flow, but still it's good.
Things that were supposed to be fun wasn't really fun at all, the kicking on the dogs etc. But i really liked the enviroments and the music fitted in pretty good too. The characters are drawn almost insanely great but the voices is taking the whole movie down.
I don't know much about voice acting, but it seems like the actor to Throwback is all too far away from the mic, and i must say that his voice don't fit in to his look pretty good. Just something that lack there, but when complaining this much i almost forget abou all the good things, the shading and some great speciel effects. Great Movie!


People find this review helpful!

JustinSmartJustinSmart

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

Eh

It was alright... pretty nice animation, and obviously a lot of time was spent on the storyboard.

However, I do have to say the voice acting was pretty bad, especially Throwback. Having your main character's voice be a voice actor's really bad attempt at sounding like a unique character does bring the cartoon down. It sounded like a geek trying to sound cool -- just didn't work. :)

Also, the story did kinda drag on. The long, dramatic shots were nicely animated, but just kind of felt useless... especially when the few "comic" moments really didn't seem funny. Throwback didn't seem too old school... I would have never guessed him to be an "old school video game mascot" if another character hadn't pointed him out as one.

But the animation was great; even the parts that were simple motion tweens looked great. And the music was pretty sweet; it really did help to set the mood of each scene.

It was alright, but I hope the next one brings in more humor. :)


People find this review helpful!

Jdietz43Jdietz43

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

Genious!!!

This is great man! Keep it up! Some people are complaining about the voice acting, but I dont think its too bad. The quality of the animation more than makes up for it. It was so long since the last one I nearly forgot about it, but the obvious quality of this one makes it clear why it took so long. Feel more than free to take all the time you need, Id much rather have a long wait and a great flash then a short wait for a peice of crap. Using Bubbsy Bobcat for the first interview is a great idea. I remember Bubbsy was the second game I played on the Genisis after Sonic the Hedgehog. I really enjoyed his game, though he eventually fell to the wayside. I hope to see plenty more where this came from, now off to see then review episode 1B.



bluedude05bluedude05

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 12, 2007

You know how to make things interesting

Like the lower rank paparatzi*sp* stalking an old celeberty for somwe easy cash, throwback is on the case. lol im interested to see how this terns out seeing as i alwasy wonder when i was younger wha happens to videogame charecters that dissapear from the lime light ...if they were real.. do tehy live like other lose celebs or do they live in obscurity. You get alot of points for bringin this curiosity back up! keep up teh good flash *continies to party B*

Btw: sorry for the spelling errors * i know there are more then 6*