Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 5, 2007 | 5:59 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 6, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 7, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the first file (Part A) of Throwback the Duck Episode 1 on NewGrounds.com.

Thank you all for your enthusiastic support of the Throwback the Duck animated adventure series. The feedback for Episode 0 A 'Back Story was very strong and encouraging. We are deeply grateful for that.

Throwback the Duck Episode 1 picks up exactly where Episode 0 left off. As a newly hired journalist for NintendoNow, Throwback stumbles onto a dream job of classic gaming journalism. Expect an intimate look into the whimsical world that is the mind of Throwback the Duck. Despite his cheesy lines and disjointed interaction with those around him, Throwback's oddball charm has a way of dazzling many of the friends he encounters...except for a cynical little office helper.

Then there's the all important gaming factor. A familiar classic gaming face makes a cameo in this episode. I'm curious to know how many of you recognize or remember this character. His story foreshadows many of the themes explored in the cartoon series.

Production notes: Due to flash file size constraints, we were forced to split Episode 1 into two files. Hence we have Part A and B of Episode 1. Please watch the show in that order to fully enjoy it.

Also, you'll notice a subtle transition in art styles during the episode. Arthur uses a style know as "straight vs. curve" near the end. This is an evolving work, folks.

And with that said, please enjoy the show. Again, we look forward to your continued support of the series. Four more exciting episodes await you before Season 1 draws to an end.
---
David Gornoski
Throwback the Duck Director

Wanna interview Throwback? Or do you simply have a question or comment? Feel free to email us at throwback@e-mpire.com.

Reviews


DarkShadowbladeDarkShadowblade

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 13, 2007

Great!..

This is practicly one of the best serieses(sp?) on NG to this day... Only one flaw,.. PLEASEEE change his ThrowBack's Voice?? he sounds like a yam eating a cow o.0
Anyways its still Very Very good and im waiting for more from you!



TomaMotoTomaMoto

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 13, 2007

Great animation, lead voice is lacking...

May I first say, as a voice actor, that the main female in this piece did wonderfully and that I loved the quality and style of the animation. The voice of Throwback, however, leaves very much to be desired. Issues with recording (like the voice suddenly getting unintelligible as if the actor was leaning in and out from the microphone) and acting (because I just couldn' feel much personality to be honest) really hurt the show. I hope to see more of this but only if the lead voice actor will work on his recording consistency and acting (or be recast). Sorry to harp on the negative points as I really found this flash to be otherwise quite admirable. It's just that voice acting is very important to me personally and I want to let you know that it was a very obvious flaw in what would have otherwise been an airtight flash.


People find this review helpful!

Aiox82Aiox82

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 13, 2007

Old school goodness

Don't listen to anyone that dumps on this series. I love it. Great style and a production value that most flashes fail to even come close to. Glad to see you are still pursuing this series, I was hoping to see more. Please, please keep it up.



WadeWilsonWadeWilson

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 13, 2007

Wasn't really all that entertaining.

And when your lead character comes off as uncharismatic and has a really annoying voice, it's hard to sit through. Had a hard time understanding anything Throwback said.



jeefuschristjeefuschrist

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 13, 2007

Amazing graphics...terrible voice acting

you've obviously invested a great deal of time in the making of these flash's...you should look into getting a better voice for throwback...he doesn't sounds cool, he really sounds stupid...the other voices are all perfect though, keep up the good work


People find this review helpful!