Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 4, 2001 | 5:35 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 5, 2001

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

If the X-Box and PS2 win this console war, it will ruin console gaming in general. That's a lot of experienced gamers' problem with the X-Box. Microsoft (as evidenced by their way of licensing and such) knows nothing about games. They look at numbers and try to buy out the companies that will sell the most games and get the most cash. The same with Sony. Note that neither company has a dynamic first party that constantly produces fantastic titles (ie. Nintendo or Sega).

Nintendo, on the other hand is a company that has been making fantastic games forever. Nintendo's first party games have always been spectacular, and only uninformed idiots say that their titles are "kiddy games." If anything, games that focus on blood and guts are aimed at kids, since it is normally the kids who search for that type of stuff in their games.

If Nintendo goes, the days when console gaming was about the gaming will be gone, and it will become STRICTLY a big-name-game, in it for the money business. Thus, the Gamecube MUST beat the X-Box, if only to save gaming as we see it.

As for the systems, the order of purchase right now stands at Dreamcast, PS2, Gamecube, then X-Box if you're buying the system "for the games." The Dreamcast has the best and most varied library, the PS2 is second (With the awesome must-buy Metal Gear Solid 2), the Gamecube is third (Smash Bros. Melee), and the X-Box is 4th. The X-Box only has Halo, which is a mediocre FPS. I say mediocre because it does NOT stand up to PC FPS (No massive multiplayer...most people don't play single person FPS), and had it been released on P.C. like it was supposed to, it would have been mostly overlooked unless it got a nice multiplayer MOD.

Dead or Alive 3 is CRAP. I will repeat that if you didn't hear...CRAP. See, I have Dead or Alive 2, and it's the same freakin game with better graphics, and graphics DO NOT change the gameplay! DOA3 is a "Championship edition" to a so-so fighter (button masher), and is in no way worth the purchase of a system. Similarly, Madden and NFL2K are superior to NFL Fever in every way (Including graphics - Madden and 2K have more realistic movements and player animations).

In conclusion, support Nintendo or console gaming will die.

Reviews


TrooperStomperTrooperStomper

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 5, 2006

Just remeber

to the previous poster... this comment stated here was made 5 years ago at the birth of the Xbox and during a time when PS2 was king (due to Sony’s constant shoving of over-the-top deceitful ads of **** games).

Now it’s 2006, Nintendo are no longer cool, they are downright weirding people out with all this weird stuff they come up with, digging themselves into a hole ever since the cell-shaded Link game.

No wonder Rare ware (the only reason why I stayed with Nintendo since half way though the N64's lifecycle) left in 2003, they smelt **** coming from the Nintendo bord of directors conference room.

Today the truth is out, Microsoft even though not perfect are trying their best to meet our standards even though they got their faults they are not human, and you have to remember the Microsoft in charge of the console division are not the same dumb asses who are in charge of the OS department so their stuff is not crap. The only crap I have seen was 2 major things only. 1. They did not have any servers outside the US (that’s their fault) and 2. Xbox live is ramped of cheating pre-Xbox live 4.0 (Xbox Live for Xbox 360).

Its a good animation, par the stop motion stuff... I do traditional animation (drawn by hand) and I suck at it, and I bet I could make something better in about a period of 2 weeks (that's at 12 frames per second, yes I am lazy).



pavedpebblephotopavedpebblephoto

Rated 1 / 5 stars April 8, 2006

You people suck at stating your opinions.

Okay, it's about time I set some crap straight.

The Xbox, contrary to popular belief, IS a good system. It get's the most graphically impressive versions of all those popular PS2/XB only games, and some of it's Japanese exclusives are some of the greatest games of this generation. Panzer Dragoon Orta. Guilty Gear X2 #Reload. Phantom Dust. Ninja Gaiden. Otogi 1 & 2. Jet Set Radio Future.

The PS2, however, is one of the worst consoles ever created. Yes, it has a few very enjoyable games, especially in recent years. The Ratchet & Clank series. Guitar Hero. Don't forget Shadow of the Colossus.

Many PS2 games, however, are some of the most overblown games out there. The Grand Theft Auto series is basically a series of slightly adventurous mini-games basked in awful graphics and cookie cutter violence. The biggest marketing gimmick since the original Mortal Kombat. In fact, both are very similar in that they use shock factor in order to mask how terrible the actual game play is.

Then, there's Metal Gear Solid 2. MGS3 was slightly better in terms of game play and story line, so I won't talk about that one much. MGS2 was basically a poorly produced sequel to what was once a fun, genre-defining game. But, guess what? MGS2 has the same basic game play mechanics of the original MGS. And as fun as MGS was, some games become dated (which is evidenced by MGS: Twin Snakes). So, what we have now is a game with the same mechanics of a 3-year-old game, only now you play as some girlie man with a Japanese name that doesn't suit his hair or eye color in any way, shape, or form. Plus, there's an incomprehensible story line! Glee!

And finally, there are the Final Fantasy games. Like MGS2, FFX was a huge dose of deja vu. Only, instead of slightly tweaking the engine of a 3-year-old game, Square used the same boring, repetitive turn-based engine they've been using for the last 16 years. Woopie. Square did however try to add some variety to FFX...and fell flat on it's face. The grid system was quite a redundant feature, Blitzball was a joke, and the annoying lead character didn't help matters much. I would much rather play the original FFIII (FFVI to all of you Final Fantasy otakus). Heck, even Kingdom Hearts sounds like a better choice than any of the recent FF titles.

To sum it all up, the PS2 is basically the home of many a generic, overrated game. I would take the GC or Xbox over the PS2 any day. I could beat you at a game of Mario Kart or Guilty Gear any day.

If I were to actually talk about this movie, it's less than average. You can draw video game characters well, but you should try to actually animate every individual frame, instead of making a bunch of motion tweens.



dragonbladeclockdragonbladeclock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 8, 2006

cool

but we need a damned sequel! also I think the fight could have been better or atleast have some cool tag team match. Vivi and Link vs. Sephiroth



Ginji-AsgardGinji-Asgard

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2006

Not bad. But there are a few issues.

1: The backgrounds didn't quite fit the character design.
2: The music should have became more menacing when sephiroth appeared.

but otherwise it was very good.



zbszbs

Rated 1 / 5 stars March 25, 2006

crappy

don't like it!