Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 14, 2007 | 9:29 PM EST
  • Daily 5th Place February 16, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 03/02/07 - Battle mode highscores table keeps more scores (250 max) :)

CONTROLS:
Space - Actions, texts, talk to people, etc.
Enter - Open/close the menu.
Arrow keys - Move the character.
Mouse - Click the buttons during battles.
Q - Toggle quality. (Best, high, medium, low)

Don't forget to equip your new weapon/armor once you've bought them.
Purchase the battle mode from a merchant in the game.

WHAT NEW IS COMING IN CHP3:

- New party members
- Overworld map
- Alchemy system (replacing Magic, for humans)

WHAT NEW IS COMING IN THE DEMO OF CHP4:

- Sea traveling
- Boat battles (against other boats and sea monsters)

Enjoy!
-Snails Animation
Go visit our website: www.snailsanimation.com

Reviews


supernofxsupernofx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 21, 2008

great game

better than the first one for sure. i found it a little short like the first one but i hope ull make one game with them all the end.i still love it



SoullockSoullock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 15, 2007

Awesome RPG!

Hey!
I have HIGH expectation from your new RPG series after trying out your short and sweet first chapter and man, did you deliver! I had a fun time exploring and battling and is even intrigued by your original story and mystery.
Now onward to review! :3

Graphic: Absolutely beautiful and natural! You gave everything a smooth animation without any serious lags and there are lot of variety all over the game! One of the best I ever seen in flash game! Nice work! this deserve a perfect 10.

Style: Also absolutely beautiful and natural. You instill a real breathing world in each area and monster you created as well as aura of eerie mysteries around them. Excellent work as always! Another perfect 10.

Sound: I am bit mixed on whatever if I should give you good or bad score on sound because you didn't give out a lot of sound effects and music, which is very shameful to me, especially since this is a beautiful RPG game. But I am giving you good average 7 because you really made me HUM during the battle and boss. I love those music, which make me look back to older days of RPG... sigh... to be young again. But I want to hear the battle music from first chapter! That one is lot better than the one you have right now. But I understand the variety you are trying to make and I respect that. Good job, but need more sound!

Violence: well... duh? It a game with sword and magic! Violence is there, but simplified to best and is still bit entertaining. Though I wish you could add one or two cool slash animations to Gustauve instead of stab, stab, stab. I love the new magic attacks though! ^_^

Interactivity: Well, you managed to improve interactivity a lot from the first chapter. I found myself exploring a lot and a lot, more so than the first chapter! Kudos to your larger and more interactive level design! Though I wish people are interactive instead of walking around with nothing to do. Maybe add one or two more side quests?

Humor: None. None at all! But I guess you meant to make this story as serious as you want it to be... It will not affect overall score.

Overall: This game is another excellent start to kick off your new imaginative series and I can see that this series will have big future ahead! Sadly though, I considered not giving you a 10 because I do not see this as revolutionary and have few of design flaws that bother me sometime. But despite the shortcoming, I still find this game to be highly enjoyable for RPG fans and heavy gamers alike. I can't wait to play more of your game and solve the mysteries behind the machines! You rock!

-Avvy


People find this review helpful!
SnailsAnimation responds:

Thank you for the very complete review!
About the sound, yes we are aware we could have had more music but it was very hard to find free music that really fitted in with the feel of our game. So we created ambiances with sound effects instead. But someday, we would really like to have personalised music for our game. About the small battle music, a lot of people really hated the one in chapter 1, but if they hate the new one even more I guess we will put the old one back lol Let's just wait for some more comments.
More side quests will be included in chapter 3 and as for humor, Gustave is a serious individual. The new party member who is coming in chapter 3 is not as serious, wich will create I guess, funnier situations. :) We will keep all your suggestions in mind and try to improve our game in the next chapters.

*We might release chapter 3 in one big pack including a remake of the first two chapters (chp1 + chp2 + chp3 all in one)

Thanks again. BTW, you didn't speak of the battle mode :) Go try it, it's quite a challenge!


gamerpeepinpagamerpeepinpa

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 16, 2007

Really nice!

That was great! Loved the FF style battle mode!



MalTheDestroyerMalTheDestroyer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 17, 2007

Very good!

Good stuff:
--The graphics are just awesome! The most impressive stuff this time around is the scenery, but I still think the characters are very well-drawn and animated. I especially like the animation for when you "pop" a ghost pulse, and when one of those little shadow thingies attacks with its blade arms.
--The music is vastly improved from the last one. The creepy night music in the beginning, in particular, is just beautiful. One sour note: the new battle music is kind of annoying, though at least it sounds like battle music now. :-)
--Puzzles in the train are nice and challenging. Good work on those. (SPOILER: The trap chest was a nice touch!)
--Nice job adding a save function and an in-game menu.
--Character advancement doesn't feel too slow--you become noticeably stronger with each level.

Annoyances:
--The electrocution noise has a popping sound at the end that bothers me.
--You still can't customize your guy when he levels up.
--You can't spend any of your money until you beat the first boss.
--Consequently, you have to "build up" to beat that boss. One of the things that was nice about Mesiria part one was that you could (and did) progress without deliberately walking around in circles in a given area fighting things over and over.
--The opening sequence, while cool, was obviously modeled after Phantasy Star 4. Points lost there in the originality department. :-P

Anyway, bottom line: this is huge improvement over part one. You guys have won yourselves a place on my favorites list. :-)


SnailsAnimation responds:

Mesiria is a tribute to games like Phantasy Star, Final Fantasy, Breath of Fire, Lufia.. We're actually glad some people noticed the resemblance in the opening sequence. (We're going to improve it in chp3) The "specials" system is also inspired by the "skills" in that game. And in the chapter 3 there will be combo attacks :l But aside that, there will be nothing to much like the ps series. There will be a Alchemy system for humans(a bit similar to Secret of Evermore *since you know old games, I'll throw in some examples like that :)*) You're gonna be able to see the enemies in the dungeons, but in the overworld, it's going to stay random battles. As for char. customisation, I'm unsure of what you mean. If you mean adding strenght, it will be possible, but only with special items like "Power milk" or like "Life bread" in Shining Force :-P, because there will be other characters in chapter 3 and the rest. And we did so because you could end up having characters with the same specs. (we want every character to have it's unique strenghts and weaknesses) Of course, in chapter 1 & 2 you're alone and if the story was to stay that way we would have used a system like that.
About the music, we would really like to have our own musician.. anyone willing to donate his talent and be a part of Mesiria, you let me know. The popping sound might be the sound of Gustave taking a hit, I'm going to check that.

Thank you for the great review!
I noticed that you made a game, I'm going to try it! :)

P.S. Screw Sega for not making Phantasy Star 5 and ruining the series by making a mmorpg out of it!!


JacketyJackety

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 18, 2007

Improvement!

Improving on something that was already good-this one was better then the last, and without the slight attempt at humor (which made it better!)

So, without a doubt; yeaaah. Better. Not in a sarcastic way, it's better then something that was great! Onto the review;

Graphics; 8/10.
Jumped two points! Admitedly, the characters are the same..but beyond that, everything else was better. The darkness was a great thing, you did the light-fading perfectly. The zooming of the train was decent, and the glowing..*drool* did I mention the glowing?

Style; 8/10.
Now, this was like the third lord of the ring movie, where you expect it to end three times over. The only difference is that here, you expect it to end, and it doesn't, and you practically LEAP for joy because you didn't want it to end. And then it actually does end, and unlike the lotr movie, where you go 'finally!' in this, you go 'when the hell's he getting the next one out!?'

I don't think suspense if the right word. But I'm pretty sure I got my point across.

Sound; 9/10.
Sounds were still awesome. Same as last time-though my only complaint is that the fight music was sorta..docile. Other then that, lovely.

Violence; 8/10.
Nothing new here. Still good, and given it's an RPG (and I'm guessing not supposed to be like..goredeathviolencesex etc), the violence content was good. The skull-exploding was fun. And I liked the Darkling deaths.

Interactivity; 7/10.
Nothing new here, again; everything that could be interacted with, could be interacted with. Though I liked the barrels for free things.

Humor; 0/10.
No humor here.

Overall; 9/10.
ORGASMIC. MAKE ANOTHER NOW. YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO HAVE A LIFE ANYMORE.
XD
Now, onto it in all seriousness; this one was long. Not too long, in the '..damnit, end already!' long. But long in the nice, filling meal way. The mysteriousness that's coming from all of the machines and all that is nice as well, although the darklings looked like retarded lemurs (I was having fits during this. >_>)

The ghost-orbs were annoying as all hells, though I liked the fights. Decent. Though a bit harder would've been nice, or maybe something to pick how hard you want it or not.

Anycase; keep up the good work man! I'm eagerly awaiting the third chapter.


People find this review helpful!
SnailsAnimation responds:

Thank you for the very detailed review :) Hope you will like the other ones as much!