Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 14, 2007 | 9:29 PM EST
  • Daily 5th Place February 16, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 03/02/07 - Battle mode highscores table keeps more scores (250 max) :)

CONTROLS:
Space - Actions, texts, talk to people, etc.
Enter - Open/close the menu.
Arrow keys - Move the character.
Mouse - Click the buttons during battles.
Q - Toggle quality. (Best, high, medium, low)

Don't forget to equip your new weapon/armor once you've bought them.
Purchase the battle mode from a merchant in the game.

WHAT NEW IS COMING IN CHP3:

- New party members
- Overworld map
- Alchemy system (replacing Magic, for humans)

WHAT NEW IS COMING IN THE DEMO OF CHP4:

- Sea traveling
- Boat battles (against other boats and sea monsters)

Enjoy!
-Snails Animation
Go visit our website: www.snailsanimation.com

Reviews


BMX007BMX007

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 15, 2007

How about a little walk-thru...

I am stuck. I keep on fighting the same enemies over and over. You should make a walk-thru for this game. And it's a very rare occasion that I can actually escape. Just work on this game a bit more.

Nice Job, almost good. 3/5


SnailsAnimation responds:

Hi, when you press "Enter", it opens the menu. In the menu, there is a "Hint" button wich pretty much tells you what you have to do. Your chances of escaping are 2 out of 3. (you must have been very unlucky lol keep on trying it will work. Except during boss fights.)
As requested, we will make a walkthrough. It will be on our website shortly. You should give it another chance.
Thank you!


DezimoDezimo

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 15, 2007

ace game!

everything about this game (up to where i've played) is perfect!
it doesn't take years to level up or save money, you can actually walk a bit before being harassed by another monster etc. (graphics are good too)

i'll put this on my favourites for now,
good luck getting front page or something :D



aaaaaa50aaaaaa50

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 15, 2007

Can't belive you didnt get recognition.

I haven't played it through yet, but I can't believe you didn't get something!


People find this review helpful!

legato-bluesummers1legato-bluesummers1

Rated 1 / 5 stars February 15, 2007

i hate this game

Let me start with the back tracking. I really hated going all the way to the other side of the game for something that wasent there before. like with the wale oil, do you really think its fun to go back and forth over and over? and the battles were just plain garbage. over and over the same thing. the same difficult thing. i first tryed going into the mines with only the rusty reiper, impossible to beat no matter what. so i tryed going in with the steel reiper and leather braces. still died on the boss. if i can 70s only 2 times, he should be limited the same. the games not all bad though. walking thrugh the town reminded me of my final fantasy days, i seen alot of promise. just please, next time make it a little easyer with all the items there before hand such as in resident evil.



SoullockSoullock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 15, 2007

Awesome RPG!

Hey!
I have HIGH expectation from your new RPG series after trying out your short and sweet first chapter and man, did you deliver! I had a fun time exploring and battling and is even intrigued by your original story and mystery.
Now onward to review! :3

Graphic: Absolutely beautiful and natural! You gave everything a smooth animation without any serious lags and there are lot of variety all over the game! One of the best I ever seen in flash game! Nice work! this deserve a perfect 10.

Style: Also absolutely beautiful and natural. You instill a real breathing world in each area and monster you created as well as aura of eerie mysteries around them. Excellent work as always! Another perfect 10.

Sound: I am bit mixed on whatever if I should give you good or bad score on sound because you didn't give out a lot of sound effects and music, which is very shameful to me, especially since this is a beautiful RPG game. But I am giving you good average 7 because you really made me HUM during the battle and boss. I love those music, which make me look back to older days of RPG... sigh... to be young again. But I want to hear the battle music from first chapter! That one is lot better than the one you have right now. But I understand the variety you are trying to make and I respect that. Good job, but need more sound!

Violence: well... duh? It a game with sword and magic! Violence is there, but simplified to best and is still bit entertaining. Though I wish you could add one or two cool slash animations to Gustauve instead of stab, stab, stab. I love the new magic attacks though! ^_^

Interactivity: Well, you managed to improve interactivity a lot from the first chapter. I found myself exploring a lot and a lot, more so than the first chapter! Kudos to your larger and more interactive level design! Though I wish people are interactive instead of walking around with nothing to do. Maybe add one or two more side quests?

Humor: None. None at all! But I guess you meant to make this story as serious as you want it to be... It will not affect overall score.

Overall: This game is another excellent start to kick off your new imaginative series and I can see that this series will have big future ahead! Sadly though, I considered not giving you a 10 because I do not see this as revolutionary and have few of design flaws that bother me sometime. But despite the shortcoming, I still find this game to be highly enjoyable for RPG fans and heavy gamers alike. I can't wait to play more of your game and solve the mysteries behind the machines! You rock!

-Avvy


People find this review helpful!
SnailsAnimation responds:

Thank you for the very complete review!
About the sound, yes we are aware we could have had more music but it was very hard to find free music that really fitted in with the feel of our game. So we created ambiances with sound effects instead. But someday, we would really like to have personalised music for our game. About the small battle music, a lot of people really hated the one in chapter 1, but if they hate the new one even more I guess we will put the old one back lol Let's just wait for some more comments.
More side quests will be included in chapter 3 and as for humor, Gustave is a serious individual. The new party member who is coming in chapter 3 is not as serious, wich will create I guess, funnier situations. :) We will keep all your suggestions in mind and try to improve our game in the next chapters.

*We might release chapter 3 in one big pack including a remake of the first two chapters (chp1 + chp2 + chp3 all in one)

Thanks again. BTW, you didn't speak of the battle mode :) Go try it, it's quite a challenge!