Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 12, 2007 | 6:39 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 13, 2007
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 14, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

-READ THE HISTORY AT THE LOADING SCREEN-
This collab is relatively different from most collabs, it basically is ONE story line divided into 5 sections, and each section created by a different artist through their own artistic opinion on how it might have been.

i was very lucky to find the animators i found for the collab, i like em all because their styles are so different, and i think that in a collaboration project its always nice to bring different styles together and see how one thing can be viewed through different perspectives. But, now speaking of the animators i have to honestly admit that i am extremely thrilled to have someone aboard the project like Luis, i remember back when i was just starting Flash, my brother and i used his "Grime vs. Squeezy" bit as a good example of a flash animation for a long time. so it's funny to end up in the same boat now. That was just a little factoid i for some eason felt that i needed to point out.

...This collab was first started off by a good friend of mine, i was only an animator making a part in his collab. but a few things got in his way and he didn't have time to get it all done, so he handed the project to me. and due to technical complications with members of the collab and information about this and that, i decided to completely redesign it and start from scratch.

since i already have SO many projects I'm working on i at first thought about accepting to lead this collab, but i think this idea was really interesting and would allow me and other animators to experiment with their more serious side. plus, i always wanted to make a Noire movie, or something along those lines for Newgrounds, and i thought this was the perfect opportunity.

anyways, this is the "Valentine '29" collaboration project, my first collab, maybe my last... but who knows. i hope you all ENJOY...

-Hans Van Harken

Reviews


good-guy-ogood-guy-o

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 20, 2007

tha reel goodguyo syas

thank u fo tha entertainmint (bnr)



KurpapyrKurpapyr

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2007

Historic Masterpiece

It was a great idea to make a V-day movie about a history fact that shocked Chicago. It was an even greater idea to make it happen in V-day period when everyone's submissions are colorful and full of joy and happiness, same excitement that is used to deny reality and promote childish and infantile movies.

The prime idea that pointed out the originality and the great concept of this movie, being also in direct relation with the noir atmosphere, was the chapter separation of it, each chapter being made by a different designer. That was a great element that certainly showed what a great movie can be developed by a team of experienced artists that coordinated themselves perfectly.

About the atmosphere, the graphics and sounds played a great role along with the excellent voice-acting and character design, animations and design of the scenes with a top quality sound. Again, all these where influenced by the different characteristics of each chapter.

The storyline made a great difference when all the historic facts and fictional legends combined in a great and original remake of the actual tragedy of the 1929 massacre. Athrough it was short, it was the perfect amount of thrill and action very close to what might have happened then.

I exaggerated a bit when I gave an overall 10, but it's really worth it to point out all the great characteristics and the brilliancy of the movie and all together it was a great V-day state of the art.



coolmanjustincoolmanjustin

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2007

amazing!

i watched it ab out 20 times before i got a round to revewing it. i think its awesome, keep up the good work!



killahkane810killahkane810

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 19, 2007

this is da shit

bump the other guy this shit is just like a fucking mafia movie swear i watched this a couple times now i want animate



DreamPhantomDreamPhantom

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 15, 2007

Best i've seen in a long time

Last thing i saw that was this well animated, was probably little foot (part one) Just like that this looks like something you had to make for school. College level material. Looks like you and some friends put forth a good amount of time and effort. I think the you made good work useing the lighting in different scenes. Must say i was pleased.