Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 12, 2007 | 6:39 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 13, 2007
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 14, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

-READ THE HISTORY AT THE LOADING SCREEN-
This collab is relatively different from most collabs, it basically is ONE story line divided into 5 sections, and each section created by a different artist through their own artistic opinion on how it might have been.

i was very lucky to find the animators i found for the collab, i like em all because their styles are so different, and i think that in a collaboration project its always nice to bring different styles together and see how one thing can be viewed through different perspectives. But, now speaking of the animators i have to honestly admit that i am extremely thrilled to have someone aboard the project like Luis, i remember back when i was just starting Flash, my brother and i used his "Grime vs. Squeezy" bit as a good example of a flash animation for a long time. so it's funny to end up in the same boat now. That was just a little factoid i for some eason felt that i needed to point out.

...This collab was first started off by a good friend of mine, i was only an animator making a part in his collab. but a few things got in his way and he didn't have time to get it all done, so he handed the project to me. and due to technical complications with members of the collab and information about this and that, i decided to completely redesign it and start from scratch.

since i already have SO many projects I'm working on i at first thought about accepting to lead this collab, but i think this idea was really interesting and would allow me and other animators to experiment with their more serious side. plus, i always wanted to make a Noire movie, or something along those lines for Newgrounds, and i thought this was the perfect opportunity.

anyways, this is the "Valentine '29" collaboration project, my first collab, maybe my last... but who knows. i hope you all ENJOY...

-Hans Van Harken

Reviews


squeakytoadsqueakytoad

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Wow...

Man, I ripped hard at your ANIMATION INVASION. Cause, well, you didn't show much animation savvy in there, and it was mostly a few toons pasted onto a poorly shot video.

But as far as you being a good animator goes, you've proved me so wrong. You've got some skill. I am now officially looking forward to more from you.
I don't know how you'll do with the humor in your next projects (parody of PotC or Halo so I hear), but I'm eager to see. Because you've definitely got the animation down. Man, if you can make some good funny material, then I'll have nothing negative to say about you now.
I really enjoy your style in this one.
You also seriously know how to compile a collab.

As for everyone else...

Luis was incredible. Of course, I'm used to being amazed by his stuff. He still holds a position in the top ten animators of Newgrounds in my mind.
Meeb's part was poor. His was the only reason I marked down '9' rather than '10' on overall score. However, he's shaping up. Eventually I'm pretty sure he'll be good at animating.
Salute to Christiansen. Nice work there.
Major salute to Osaka. You've got some nice art. Your animation could be smoother, but it's still some beautiful work you got there.

As far as the collab's story goes, I wasn't too impressed. But I didn't really care.
The art and animation were, for the most part, great. Sometimes even incredible.

Voicing could use some work at parts (didn't feel real enough a lot of the time), but overall it was good.

Great work, everyone.

-st


People find this review helpful!

AstralimitsAstralimits

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

best

the massacre was the best one



IzzyGrazeIzzyGraze

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 12, 2007

Amazing

This is what flash animation is all about. But seriously dude, there has to be a sequal, I need to know what happens!



VegitinismVegitinism

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 12, 2007

had it all

my title describes it, i loved it. All of them were good, even the second one, that may be known as the worst, but it was fricken hilarious.

Well i hope you make a series, like have a crazy series of all styles together, with a fluent storyline.

This may have been said or will be said more, but front page easily!!!

5/5 and 10/10



ConAirConAir

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 12, 2007

Great effort on everyone's part

The mix of styles went surprisingly smooth together and everything came out looking crisp and clean. I really liked the fact that the story held everything together and that the different views artists brought to the table was sort of a secondary thing.

My favorite part was "The Escape" by Christian, I loved the stylized people and the way they behaved - they were really convincing as people in the way you animated them to fit their dialogue. Well done.

And well done on the collaberation as a whole, it really came out looking nice.