Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 12, 2007 | 6:39 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 13, 2007
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 14, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

-READ THE HISTORY AT THE LOADING SCREEN-
This collab is relatively different from most collabs, it basically is ONE story line divided into 5 sections, and each section created by a different artist through their own artistic opinion on how it might have been.

i was very lucky to find the animators i found for the collab, i like em all because their styles are so different, and i think that in a collaboration project its always nice to bring different styles together and see how one thing can be viewed through different perspectives. But, now speaking of the animators i have to honestly admit that i am extremely thrilled to have someone aboard the project like Luis, i remember back when i was just starting Flash, my brother and i used his "Grime vs. Squeezy" bit as a good example of a flash animation for a long time. so it's funny to end up in the same boat now. That was just a little factoid i for some eason felt that i needed to point out.

...This collab was first started off by a good friend of mine, i was only an animator making a part in his collab. but a few things got in his way and he didn't have time to get it all done, so he handed the project to me. and due to technical complications with members of the collab and information about this and that, i decided to completely redesign it and start from scratch.

since i already have SO many projects I'm working on i at first thought about accepting to lead this collab, but i think this idea was really interesting and would allow me and other animators to experiment with their more serious side. plus, i always wanted to make a Noire movie, or something along those lines for Newgrounds, and i thought this was the perfect opportunity.

anyways, this is the "Valentine '29" collaboration project, my first collab, maybe my last... but who knows. i hope you all ENJOY...

-Hans Van Harken

Reviews


ZiddyZiddy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Awesome Job

That was an amazing job for a historical event. If I had a hat, I'd tip it off to you.



BiddiexpressBiddiexpress

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

fantastic job!

It's been a while scince i've seen a collab that looks fantastic and works very well, love to see more collabs up to this standard. great job lads! :D



JoeandTomJoeandTom

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Good job!

Good collab! not sure if its... very.. valentines-ish... and I wish it had an ending.. but good job


AlmightyHans responds:

this is a historical event that happened in Chicago of 1929 ON Valentin'e Day. i don't mean to sound like an asshole but why don't people read the "HISTORY" at the loading screen?


Kaden056Kaden056

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Unbelieveable

This was amazing. Although, I must say that I wish you could've added what the dying guy was going to say. I really wanted to see what happened after that. Other than that, this was a truly great flash.



SenilekSenilek

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Cool

This was a good submission. It was definitely interesting to see how each artist brought their own unique style and interpretation to the table with each scene.
It was well animated and cool to watch. good job.