Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 12, 2007 | 6:39 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 13, 2007
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 14, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

-READ THE HISTORY AT THE LOADING SCREEN-
This collab is relatively different from most collabs, it basically is ONE story line divided into 5 sections, and each section created by a different artist through their own artistic opinion on how it might have been.

i was very lucky to find the animators i found for the collab, i like em all because their styles are so different, and i think that in a collaboration project its always nice to bring different styles together and see how one thing can be viewed through different perspectives. But, now speaking of the animators i have to honestly admit that i am extremely thrilled to have someone aboard the project like Luis, i remember back when i was just starting Flash, my brother and i used his "Grime vs. Squeezy" bit as a good example of a flash animation for a long time. so it's funny to end up in the same boat now. That was just a little factoid i for some eason felt that i needed to point out.

...This collab was first started off by a good friend of mine, i was only an animator making a part in his collab. but a few things got in his way and he didn't have time to get it all done, so he handed the project to me. and due to technical complications with members of the collab and information about this and that, i decided to completely redesign it and start from scratch.

since i already have SO many projects I'm working on i at first thought about accepting to lead this collab, but i think this idea was really interesting and would allow me and other animators to experiment with their more serious side. plus, i always wanted to make a Noire movie, or something along those lines for Newgrounds, and i thought this was the perfect opportunity.

anyways, this is the "Valentine '29" collaboration project, my first collab, maybe my last... but who knows. i hope you all ENJOY...

-Hans Van Harken

Reviews


Valued14Valued14

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

nice job fellas

this was a nice interpretation of the massacre, i liked how the different animation styles came together to tell a piece of history about the day of the st. valentine's day massacre. it's also good to see something good come from valentine's day aside from the heart-shaped tums and the gay greeting cards. not only is it violent, but it's educational, and it's a great way to tell people that valentine's day isn't a gay holiday all the time, but without this knowledge, it usually is.


People find this review helpful!

MsWeirdMsWeird

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Wow.

Violent and historically awesome, haha. I like it.



Poeticman7Poeticman7

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Short But Tooth-Rottingly Sweet

This flash definitely demolishes the competition by telling one good cohesive story really well. That's actually quite rare on this site. The animation was terrific. My favorite is difficult to name because each flash is excellent in a different aspect.

The best as far as animation style and originality is a close race between The Massascre and The Crime Scene.

The Lookout was a funny take on Italian Mobster stereotypes.

The Phone Call was an amazing start and could vey well be argued as the best of the five.

The Escape's brief length made it appear to be the weakest of the bunch despite how impressive the animation truly was. It can be argued that The Lookout was the weakest because of the animation style used being adequate but not quite as daring and bold as the others.

It's very rare that a flash uses a factually story and actually sticks to it and with such jazzy flavor. I loved the film noir feel of the first and last segments. I loved the minimalist sound approach to the third segment. The whole product in itself is a speechless rendering beautiful bloodied beast I wouldn't mind giving a good stare down or two.

One last thing before I'm through, that voice acting was on point! Mr. Harken, your good stuff on the microphone and with a pen. I'll tell ya that.

Thanks to all of you and every one of your contributions to this flash that brightened up my day. Peace!


People find this review helpful!

SplurgleSplurgle

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Incredible.

All of you did a fantastic job. All of them were 1 themed, all of them had phenomenal graphics, all of you had awesome voice acting, all of you kick ass!



Valid12891Valid12891

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2007

Very Good Work

This was phenomenal, the animation was very good, particulaly on the last section, the voice acting was incredible. I can't wait untill i can animate like this.