Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 12, 2007 | 6:39 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 13, 2007
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 14, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

-READ THE HISTORY AT THE LOADING SCREEN-
This collab is relatively different from most collabs, it basically is ONE story line divided into 5 sections, and each section created by a different artist through their own artistic opinion on how it might have been.

i was very lucky to find the animators i found for the collab, i like em all because their styles are so different, and i think that in a collaboration project its always nice to bring different styles together and see how one thing can be viewed through different perspectives. But, now speaking of the animators i have to honestly admit that i am extremely thrilled to have someone aboard the project like Luis, i remember back when i was just starting Flash, my brother and i used his "Grime vs. Squeezy" bit as a good example of a flash animation for a long time. so it's funny to end up in the same boat now. That was just a little factoid i for some eason felt that i needed to point out.

...This collab was first started off by a good friend of mine, i was only an animator making a part in his collab. but a few things got in his way and he didn't have time to get it all done, so he handed the project to me. and due to technical complications with members of the collab and information about this and that, i decided to completely redesign it and start from scratch.

since i already have SO many projects I'm working on i at first thought about accepting to lead this collab, but i think this idea was really interesting and would allow me and other animators to experiment with their more serious side. plus, i always wanted to make a Noire movie, or something along those lines for Newgrounds, and i thought this was the perfect opportunity.

anyways, this is the "Valentine '29" collaboration project, my first collab, maybe my last... but who knows. i hope you all ENJOY...

-Hans Van Harken

Reviews


quasimodo1quasimodo1

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 16, 2010

Not bad at all

Pretty clever colaboration. My only negative comment is too short. But I realize that time is limited. Wouldn't it be a good idea if it was a bit more authentic? The meat of the story is there so I can't bitch about that.

I'd look forward to another of these works depicting some historical event. Please keep 'em coming if possible.



MOC-ProductionsMOC-Productions

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 3, 2010

Outstanding.

Someone suggested I see this because I'm planning a collab with a similar concept. I must say, I LOVED this. Very cinematic. Loved the music cues (Fargo, some version of the Syriana soundtrack, etc.). Excellent work. I am inspired.



Crypto-136Crypto-136

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 22, 2010

two stuges

wow there are alot of animators in this



ECJ666ECJ666

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 6, 2010

brilliant

really good.
thats all i can say
you cannot beat making an awesome toon about mafia lords ;)



madnessboy13madnessboy13

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2010

awesome

i don't know why you would make a collab about something so dark