Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 24, 2007 | 3:23 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 31, 2007
  • Daily Feature January 25, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Evolve, Infect, Kill! Pandemic is a game where you get to evolve you own biological virus and wipe out mankind! Please read instructions on how to play the game! West Europe is completely able to be infected, its just hard. May be dangerous to play if you are epileptic. You get points based on number of newly infected people after a turn. For your first few turns you will not receive any points.

--May 10th 2008--
Wow, thanks to everyone for the awesome reviews, and thanks to NG for the Tank Award nomination! Many people have been wishing for more features. I'm happy to say I'm working on Pandemic 2 at the moment, and it's feature list is massive. The game will make this (the original) look small and shallow in comparison.

--March 2nd 2008--
Thanks to everyone who has liked the game! And thanks to Tom for including it in Portal history of 2007 !!

--Jan 25th 2007--
Wow, front page !! Thanks a lot Tom, and thanks to everyone who has liked the game !

Reviews


thetoughfairythetoughfairy

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 2, 2007

BUY AN ATLAS!! >=[

Since when was India and Pakistan part of East Europe. Since when was Iraq, Iran and Saudia Aribia part of central Europe. I understand you may have wanted to make splitting up the map a bit simpler but according to that map Europe is bigger than Asia which is mega stupid. You should change central Europe to the middle east, change east Europe to Asia and change Asia to East Asia.


People find this review helpful!

DethamaticDethamatic

Rated 2 / 5 stars August 11, 2008

2nd

2nd one is more easy and better to play!



BetaOrionisBetaOrionis

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 3, 2008

Lacking.

This is such a great concept but was executed like crap. Technical stuff first.

1 - Buy an atlas. China is not a part of Eastern Europe.

2 - Check the census. The world population is almost 7 billion, not 500,000. And the proportions were horrendously flawed as well.

3 - I should not need an airport to spread a virus between different sections of Europe and Asia.

4 - When you hit GO while in the mutate screen, the points don't rack. I have to go back to the map and then go to the mutate screen for it to update.

5 - One time when I played, the game told me that I had won, but I still had one dude left to kill. This was very upsetting, because that particular Western European once served me a hot chocolate that was only lukewarm, and I really wanted to kill him.

6 - Once I had 100% of North America infected, with zero symptoms and zero lethality, and very high infectibility, no one in all of North America took an international flight for over thirty days.

7 - By the time the world population has dropped to 10%, there would be no further news stories.

On to gameplay issues. I understand that it is possible, and in my opinion easy, to kill everyone all the time, it gets very dull, very fast, sitting here waiting for West Europe to magically get infected. I mean, there isn't very much to do other than sit and watch nothing go on. There isn't even a notification to tell me when it got infected.

Some ways to improve gameplay would be allowing the player to utilize human agents. I'm sure many of us are aware of things like bio-terrorism, or the religious armageddon. You should be able to use terrorists, special interest special agents, hardcore catholics, or other fanatics. Some human rights groups would be opposed to quarantines, independently wealthy individuals, smugglers, and diplomats, would be able to spread the virus even with airports closed. Antarctica has a population of some hundred or so scientists at all times. Space has a population of like 4. The virus would have to go seagull borne or food borne to reach Antartcica, and our cosmonauts would eventually kill themselves out of depression, or starve, so fuck them. Anyway, social darwinists or other survivalists would bunker themselves at the first signs of a pandemic. The virus would have to survive for a long time after all humans die in order to get to these guys. Going animal-borne would be the only way. I know that this is probably too much to consider for a flash game, but at least SOME of these should've been used. There are a shitload of other things that you could've added, but the way the way it is now is too bland, unrealistic, and up to chance, and there are no where near enough options for symptoms or infectibility.

Again, it's a great idea, but needs more thorough and expansive execution. Please make a second.


People find this review helpful!
Blips responds:

I'm aware china is not part of eastern Europe, but to keep things simple, I had to simplify the geography. I also realize that the world population is closer to 7 billion, that was a bit of an oversight I should have fixed.

You dont need airports to spread the virus, it's capable of going across borders if the infectivity is high enough.

Thank you for your comments and helpful criticism, I wish more people were like you and wrote something useful instead of just saying "this sux, its the worst ever".

I'm working on a 2nd one that, in my opinion dwarfs this one. I'm trying to get it done as fast as I can!


frigginjake1frigginjake1

Rated 2 / 5 stars January 28, 2007

not bad

it kept me playing it but its not very fun to watch



Thepieman484Thepieman484

Rated 2 / 5 stars January 29, 2013

Not as good as 2. hard to understand. 2/5