Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 24, 2007 | 3:23 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 31, 2007
  • Daily Feature January 25, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Evolve, Infect, Kill! Pandemic is a game where you get to evolve you own biological virus and wipe out mankind! Please read instructions on how to play the game! West Europe is completely able to be infected, its just hard. May be dangerous to play if you are epileptic. You get points based on number of newly infected people after a turn. For your first few turns you will not receive any points.

--May 10th 2008--
Wow, thanks to everyone for the awesome reviews, and thanks to NG for the Tank Award nomination! Many people have been wishing for more features. I'm happy to say I'm working on Pandemic 2 at the moment, and it's feature list is massive. The game will make this (the original) look small and shallow in comparison.

--March 2nd 2008--
Thanks to everyone who has liked the game! And thanks to Tom for including it in Portal history of 2007 !!

--Jan 25th 2007--
Wow, front page !! Thanks a lot Tom, and thanks to everyone who has liked the game !

Reviews


chillyo08chillyo08

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 15, 2008

cool

i like dis, but its a bit hard 2 spread 2 other countries. hope u make a sequel!



eeelickeeelick

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 5, 2007

I suck

I tried not clicking on anything and just letting the virus run it's course and i killed 484856 people which was better then the 320000 i killed using points trying to win. The lesson is, never try.



Zenith-the-NinjaZenith-the-Ninja

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 28, 2007

uh....is it just me?

I seem to have a bug when playing, no matter how many people I infect...I get no added points...at all.

Does anyone have any ideas/suggestions?

I will do a full review once this problem is fixed...



ConfuZionConfuZion

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 4, 2007

Great work, a fun game all round

This game is cool, mostly on account of it's original style and gameplay, which make it all the more fun.

It took me a couple of goes to get the world and all it's pesky population out of my way, but i eventually did just that, top scoring at about 5200.

I do, however, have a couple of suggestions:

infectivity: you have Airports and Water plants, which is a start...
I wouldn't mind seeing a couple more routes here. There needs to be some player choice here, so that i (as the virus) can select my perfect breeding ground.
- Live stock (or farms) would be a nice way to infect people.
- Hospitals. the sick would be pouring in, and with no cure, all the more people would be contracting it.
- school/office. people wouldn't be going to these places once the infection rate hit a certain % of the populace, but in the early goings with a low leathality, you might choose to infect a schoolyard or office block.

Maybe the game should be a little deeper in the begining, with the focus being on the virus' country of origin, with a handful of selectable infectables to choose from, with the map zooming out to the world to include other countries if you even get that far?

But, my point remains, this game is cool.
I hope you have a sequal in mind, with a couple of alterations to boot.

Good work :)


People find this review helpful!

JaccoWJaccoW

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 27, 2007

Good game, but as said before, needs some altering

First of,
Good Game

The concept is interesting and it is fun to play the first few times while you're still trying to find out how to spread best.

There were however a few things that need some improving:
-The different effects need a short description. For example, I had to look up the meaning of the more serious effects such as hemorrhaging.
-I know it would make this game a lot more complicated, but how can a disease change globaly so rapidly? I mean, isolated strands of a virus don't suddenly change worldwide, they change according to the enviroments they're in. Perhaps give the different continents different circumstances. Perhaps a virus needs to be very heat resistant to survive in the desserts in Australia? It would give us a reason to invest in moisture resistance and such. Now I think those rules are there, but invisible for us.
-As said before, the continents might be redivided. Perhaps divide them into different countries within continents. Borders within Europe are more difficult to close than the borders within for example Africa.
-I would like to see more and more various notices telling me that 50% of the population is dead. Things like, The virus has spread to ..., the virus has resurfaced in North America in a different form.
There is an outbreak of the new virus in western Africa, etc.
The virus has killed ... number of people in specific continents
-And perhaps a score depending on infection and death toll.

But please, don't let this scare you. This was a game I enjoyed playing and I hope you make more or even make en improved version of this game.


People find this review helpful!