Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 24, 2007 | 3:23 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 31, 2007
  • Daily Feature January 25, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Evolve, Infect, Kill! Pandemic is a game where you get to evolve you own biological virus and wipe out mankind! Please read instructions on how to play the game! West Europe is completely able to be infected, its just hard. May be dangerous to play if you are epileptic. You get points based on number of newly infected people after a turn. For your first few turns you will not receive any points.

--May 10th 2008--
Wow, thanks to everyone for the awesome reviews, and thanks to NG for the Tank Award nomination! Many people have been wishing for more features. I'm happy to say I'm working on Pandemic 2 at the moment, and it's feature list is massive. The game will make this (the original) look small and shallow in comparison.

--March 2nd 2008--
Thanks to everyone who has liked the game! And thanks to Tom for including it in Portal history of 2007 !!

--Jan 25th 2007--
Wow, front page !! Thanks a lot Tom, and thanks to everyone who has liked the game !

Reviews


TwitchmonkeyTwitchmonkey

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2007

More of the same please

Really great game. I was able to beat it pretty easily using the infect strategy that most of the people that beat this seemed to use. If you make a sequel (which I hope you do) I'd say just add more interactivity and options. Give the regions different attributes and allow us to choose where to start (perhaps North America is really hard to infect but can give you a lot of kills if you do). Also, I'd like to see some choice in the starting virus. Give us the option of some basic templates to start with, with varying advantages and disadvantages. Finally, I'd like to be able to develop attack strategies, things like "attack the waterways" or "spread to a certain area". Though I suppose viruses aren't that smart....


People find this review helpful!
Blips responds:

Thanks for your review and thanks for your suggestions for any sequel I might produce in the future.


EganEgan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2007

It's nice to see something original these days!

Pandemic gives you the ability to be the one of the things that can stop a civilization with great stealth: Illness. It's, if not for fun, is definitely educational. The music fits perfectly, if you ever heard the music from other medical games, you'd realize this, too, has such a theme to it. The problem here, though, is that this game doesn't really let you get more then just what it says on the lower right corner. (Perhaps a few newspapers, "video" clips, stuff like that?) I suggest this game to those who are interested in medical themes, and those who'd love to try something new.

I give Pandemic a 9.



mysticflames25mysticflames25

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 24, 2007

i loved it

great game, it is winnable too. the way i did it was to first make the virus as infective as possible and than with the numerous points i gathered after everyone is infected in each region make it as lethal as possible



PohranicniStrazePohranicniStraze

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2007

Good, but can be improved.

I like the concept a lot, but there are a few things that could be improved. One nice addition would be a wider range of upgrade options to choose from, or a repricing of the existing options- you can potentially run out of things to spend points on pretty quickly. A more realistic representation of the transit system would be nice too (Western Europe has no major airports?), and maybe a finer breakdown of national borders. But it is a pretty fun, if grim, strategy game. 5/5

PS- you may want to rename the geographic areas. I am pretty sure that Eastern Europe doesn't extend halfway through China.


Blips responds:

Changes and improvements will be made for any future sequel :P Thanks for the review !


MasterOfMagicMasterOfMagic

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 24, 2007

Very fun, but completely impossible.

This is a very nice game, but because of western europes lack of an airport or water treatment plant, it's impossible to infect them once they close off public transit, or unless you start off in there. I would love to see this as an actually win-able game, but you might want to make the rewards cost more, or adjust the point gain rate. I gave violence a 10 because..well...basically we're killing all of humanity. Good job though


Blips responds:

Actually West Europe can be infected very easily. Just requires the correct strategy :P Thanks for the review !