Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 24, 2007 | 3:23 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 31, 2007
  • Daily Feature January 25, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Evolve, Infect, Kill! Pandemic is a game where you get to evolve you own biological virus and wipe out mankind! Please read instructions on how to play the game! West Europe is completely able to be infected, its just hard. May be dangerous to play if you are epileptic. You get points based on number of newly infected people after a turn. For your first few turns you will not receive any points.

--May 10th 2008--
Wow, thanks to everyone for the awesome reviews, and thanks to NG for the Tank Award nomination! Many people have been wishing for more features. I'm happy to say I'm working on Pandemic 2 at the moment, and it's feature list is massive. The game will make this (the original) look small and shallow in comparison.

--March 2nd 2008--
Thanks to everyone who has liked the game! And thanks to Tom for including it in Portal history of 2007 !!

--Jan 25th 2007--
Wow, front page !! Thanks a lot Tom, and thanks to everyone who has liked the game !

Reviews


RawwwrrRawwwrr

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 26, 2007

Awsome concept!

This idea is amazing but it could work a lot better, it just seems a bit bland in some areas like;
- Its difficult to tell what the improvements actually do..eg Does immunity to heat ACTUALY make it easier to infect hotter regions like Africa? Does survivability outside host mean the virus has a more likely chance to cross over to neighbouring regions? This all needs to be clearly outlined and scripted.
- Points system. How does it work per kills?? (and a point indicator on the map screen would be useful instead of flicking back and forth to the improvements screen)
- Lethality and Visibilty. These 2 shouldnt be linked as much in the symptons. In real, Coughing/sneezing arnt lethal but clearly visible, while a haemorrhage can cause death but is not noticeable at all.
- More visual depth. its just a map.. show us our beautiful creation!!

Please take some of the ideas of other reviewers onboard because I'm really looking forward to the sequel!! Good job!


People find this review helpful!

UmBaBoydUmBaBoyd

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 26, 2007

Fantastic original game.

A fantastic game and good fun to play. Requires a good strategy apart from one bit.
Western Europe, some reviews say its immpossible, they lie.
Some says its easy with the strategy. I've found the strategy of lowering visibility help but wether the virus crosses the border or not is down to pot luck. Cos u can take the visibility down to 2 and get full infectivity within 44 days but it still might not cross the border and at day 76 they close it. So That is the one annoying part of the game the fact that u just have to wait and hope it crosses the border to complete the game.
But other than that well done and a great submission.



AneirinprimeAneirinprime

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 26, 2007

Genuinely chilling

Warning, hints will appear at the end.

Yet still fun. The music really suited the atmosphere of the game and the graphics, although simplistic, were effective. After all, if you had a million stick figures falling over in each country, or your virus evolved and became 'hairy' (as another reviewer suggested), it would detract from the starkness the game offered.

An original concept that makes you think.

Now to hints, some people have said western Europe is impossible to infect, this is because the virus is to visible and deadly, dont buy symptoms such as weakness or vomiting, by all the transmission upgrade (such as human, resistance and survivability), and, the important bit, UNCHECK symtpoms, leave only coughin, or nothing. This way people wont notice the virus, they will let in in (including western Europe) then you can make it lethal again however you want. Doing this I managed it in 82 days.



LegetLeget

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 26, 2007

Great

I love this game, but you could have done more with graphics. Maybe a picture of what my virus looks like. Also a meter for how many humans there are vs. how many are dead would be nice.

It took me a long time to figure this out but i finally killed everyone in 80 days.



YiffyYiffy

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 26, 2007

Innovative!

This game offers a realy unique gameplay and posebilities.
I've never saw a game like this, actualy playing for the germs and viruses instead of saving the world.

The grapics where verry well done, but at some other side they where also somewhat absent, but you've done a nice job.

The style was excellent, unique and innovative, i just loved making my own kind of virus and wiping out all of mankind.
What added even more to the enjoyment was the headlines, verry well done.

The sound was OK, though absent where soundeffects, the background music was just nice and muteable!

There wasn't mutch voilence present though, the voilence there was was displayed trough text, but that doesn't matter at all.

The interactivity was high, though could be better.
You could devolp your own virus, but that was it... though it also allows for stratiegies its still just a bit lacking total customization of your virus, or random events.

Humor.. well i atleast didn't found any.

Criticism

Well, the game offered an unique experience, though it missed just some things that could make it a total awesome game.

For example visuals, how about you could *see* if you clicked a country how many people where in it, for example a little city filled with people, less people will apear if more are dead, or infected people apear, people fall dead etc.

The sound was also a little abscent, there was background music but there weren't any nice sound effects or such.

And last not least, interactivity.
Yes, you could do alot but it was just somewhat lacking.
For example customizing your virus on visuals, or different objectives, strategies for spreading or random events.

Grades

- Graphics 7
They where nice, but there wasn't mutch to be viewed at all.

- Style 9
Verry unique and innovative, keep it up!

- Sound 6
There was a nice background tune but other sound was abscent.

- Violence 6
There wasn't any voilence to be vieuwed, only in words.
But due to the fact that you had to kill half of mankind, i grant this a 6.

- Interactivity 7
On one side, there was alot of posebilities, but for it being perfect it just lacked something.

- Humor 0
Didn't notice any humor.

Overal - 8

Idea's / Suggestions

- Ways to spread your virus.
Drop vials of your virus in the water company, drop some vails on the street, let loose an iffected animal in the city or how about a missle with a viral warhead?

- Visual Customization
How about being able to customize your virus visualy?
For example if your virus is resistant to heat, it grows little hairs.
But if your virus is airborne, it is for example a different shape than usualy.. and on.

- Objectives
Having to do a thing, or preventing a thing etc.
While this game is simple objectives would give an unique challange.
For example infecting a country, but preventing another country from being infected.

- Random Events
Events that randomly happen, for example when your virus get spread due to a circuimstance, when they find a cure for your virus so you have to mutate it or when another virus arises wich kills your virus, or when someone passes a border illigaly and spreads the virus in that country, etc.

- Anti-Viruses
Other germs and medical equipment wich you have to protect your virus from.
For example a germ wich destroys your virus, while if you mutate it it would be resisant or it could actualy counter it.

- More visuals.
How about cutscenes, of random events.
Or if you could click a country and see a little city with people in it, lots of dead and you'll see a quiet city, while if all alive its crowded, or when many infected you see lots of green-faces.

Final Words

Well for what you've done now, you've done a great job.
The game itself is verry unique and verry enjoyable.
I dearly hope you make a sequal to this with more posebilties, and then hopefully atleast one of the things i mentioned.

Thank you for making this game, and wish you the best luck in future projects.


People find this review helpful!