Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 15, 2007 | 9:12 PM EST
  • Daily Feature January 17, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place January 17, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Robotech
    Robotech A fan-fiction take on the legendary series!

Author Comments

For more info on the film, check out:
http://robotechflash.blog .com/

In the year 1999, an alien vessel crashed on Earth. Ten years later, a united mankind has sought to rebuild the fallen space fortress and travel to the stars. Our story begins hereā€¦

This film is not based on the mythos set by Robotech. It's based on the original source material for Robotech's Macross Saga and its film version, Macross: Do You Remember Love.

Certain scenes were taken from the 15th Anniversary Playstation game.

Reviews


CrimsonGearCrimsonGear

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 18, 2007

Great Effects, Beautiful Art, Average Animation

First off, I'd love to see the machine that can run this video smoothly. The animation was, in most places, pretty sub-par, but the effects and artistry were stunning. I've never seen someone draw fog quite as accurately as you have in this video, and I fear I'll never get my head around drawing mechs. The explosions and... oh hell, just about everything was executed with extreme finesse and artistry. I almost dropped my jaw when I saw the fog and sunbeams, but cringed when I saw the animation.
So, what really stood out for me was the effects. The story... meh, I was never a big Macross fan, but I'm not a hater. I respect it deeply as a good show that opened up very many doors as far as anime goes. In this video, the animation was, alas, motion-tweened bits and pieces. There's a way to do it so it looks good, (Tomorrow's Nobodies comes irresistibly to mind,) and you were ALMOST there. But that aside, the effects were just awesome. You've got amazing artistic talent; that much is obvious from the wonderful backgrounds, but though doing frame-by-frame animation for the characters would have probably significantly lengthened production time, I think it would have been wise.
Also, the downside to all those awesome effects is that most computers chew on them like frozen caramel - even on the lowest graphics setting, it lagged in most places, and believe me when I say my machine isn't too shabby. I'm sure I'll never know why it's so hard for most computers to run graphic-intensive Flash movies while being able to run games like Half-Life at a good framerate. Oh well, that isn't your failing. I'd just love to see the machine that could run this movie smoothly, as I said earlier.
Onto the judgin':

Graphics - Great effects, beautiful art, average animation. - 9
Style - Hey, it's old-school anime, man! Can't go wrong! - 10
Sound - Good, but could have been a bit better, methinks. - 8
Violence - Explosions and stuff, but no blood or gore (that's good). - 5
Interactivity - Extra points for the expanded menu. - 4
Humor - I don't think this movie was intended for comedic effect. - 0
Overall - Amazing eye-candy, but animation was a glaring defect. - 8

I understand and appreciate the amount of work that went into this, and I give you due props for it. This movie is certainly in the top 5% of movies on Newgrounds. Pat yourself on the back, if you haven't already, but know that there is definitely room for improvement. I look forward to your future work!


MedMapGuy responds:

Thanks for the comprehensive review (and for not being too harsh!) Again, I never had a background in animation... I used to watch a lotta cartoons, but that doesn't really count, does it? :P

Whenever I reach the 3 month mark during production, I lose a lot of interest in the project, and it becomes a chore to complete... I guess since I'm a one man team, it's... good enough? Anyway, I'll try to improve the tween animation...


cloudburstcloudburst

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 18, 2007

very well done

man that was awsome i loved it . the graphics was good the sound was good and the style was great !!



Darth-BikuDarth-Biku

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 18, 2007

That was superb.

That was amazing, I can't find any words to describe this.



Da-CidreDa-Cidre

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 18, 2007

A great memory of a great series

Though they're flash scenes of events from the original movie and the PS2 It's good to see Macross again.

An excellent effort that captured the spirit of the originals!


MedMapGuy responds:

Ah, it was tough, but I guess the results are up to par...


GuyverX01GuyverX01

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 18, 2007

Amazing

Dude u captured the essence of the macross series so well i liked both of ur movies keep up the excellent job ^_^


MedMapGuy responds:

Thanks. Perhaps a sequel to Macross: Flashback 2012 is in order?