Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 7, 2007 | 9:42 PM EST
  • Daily Feature January 9, 2007
  • Weekly 3rd Place January 10, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

sock 4 lops. An idea explosion factory of bits of dreams
and bits of not-dreams. I've been adding small bits to
this for months and now i'm sick of doing it. I think this
one is quite long. I think my attention span is short.
Actually I know that. If you want music by Lackluster (who's tracks are featured in this ones) then go to http://www.lackluster.org /shop/

Reviews


sk8ordiemofosk8ordiemofo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2007

i love you david

you are awsome



flash-gordon03flash-gordon03

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 1, 2007

I liked pulch

You know people don't give you justice, they tend to look at your work and judge it without seeing the metaphors and what your trying to portray. But I don't think you need to clarify more, it seems to weed out the less promising folks the way that you do it. But on a better note, I've always really enjoyed your work and can't wait till the next one.



OscarOneiricOscarOneiric

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 29, 2007

Another Firth cartoon is a sight for rabid eyes

David Firth has done it again with an excellent satirical commentary that jabs playfully at the "progress" of science and technology.

Neville gets the whites fantastically white using a comotose man's pancreas; and in order to stop an apparent pedophile problem, science professor Dr. Jelskraft invents, among other things, a computer that 'thinks' like a pedophile.

The film seems to be inadvertantly targeting the beaurocratic science sects of the world, but at the same time, 'Socklops' puts the weird back in the weird, unexpectedly and interchangably, with an evolved, transcendent dream-like, Carrolian scenario. (the narrator discovers he can shrink himself by pushing on his left hip bone.)

Thematically genius and crafted wonderfully, this piece soars kite-high.

"Why would a man of science turn against his audience like that?"


People find this review helpful!

RetoxRetox

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 26, 2007

Thought Provoking, Firth

Inanimate objects becoming aware of themselves. A machine that makes anything you want, smokable (I want that) and a man who shrinks so far down into a particle of something or another, and discovers the entire universe is contained inside. Very though provoking.

I thought you might have been losing your magic with Pulch (which later grew on me anyway) but this is some of your best material yet.

"Why would a man of science laugh at his audience?"

The character telling the story is awesome. I want to see more of that guy.


People find this review helpful!

PhantomPhantom

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 26, 2007

Interesting and random as ever.

As the last film you made and I reviewed, this is very typical only to your style, which is plain randomness combined with odd and interesting ideas. Visually the drawings as well as the animation are at a very high level, very well done and clear. A way you usually use which uses and interesting form of playing with shadows and silhouettes. Good attention to all the details and so on. The style was as you tend to do at least from what I’ve seen. A master piece made with randomness, innovative characters and plot outlines that borderline insanity. Extremely creative work and very imaginative, as always. Speaking of the sounds, the music was a bit thin but still heard and did fit pretty well. But the voices, now that was incredible. That serine tone they are all in and how well they perform the part with good speed and steady progress. Violence was a tad obvious but nothing too blunt or anything like that. Mostly things those are ok as long as there isn’t a kid around. As far as interactivity goes, I was a bit disappointed. The amount of control given in a movie should be one that depends on the movie’s length. A short movie can do with a play/replay button and be done with it. A movie of these lengths should have more, much more. It is a more quality film and thus needs more control, like a pause button, a little button for quality and maybe a scene select. I understand it is more a technicality than the usual creative side you are better at. But it is still needed, especially in a movie such as this. And even more so, a seek would be nice as well, of course it is then harder to mange the sounds and all, but without it, it is harder to handle if you miss a small part you wanted to see. Not the best judgment...In humor, this movie was as most of yours are, funny in its own way. Like the whining of the victim with the tube in his head and the doctor convincing him he isn’t complaining. Or how simply the shrinking idea worked. The movie was very diverse as you always have done; it is original like nothing else on this earth and must have taken a great deal of effort. In general it is wonderful but really needs touches on the Interactivity. Now for the detailed look on each part:

Graphics: 9, Very well animated. Good use of light and shadow as you tend to in your films, I really do find inspiration in it for my own sketches. Animation was smooth and fluent as ever, brilliant as always and most importantly, it kept me interested all through out the film.

Style: 9, At this point I’d say that it deserves the “David Firth” style award. As his own Wikipedia page suggests, this film, as most are abstract and do not have a set story line, and admirable quality. And this was of course pretty random, abstract and nightmarish. Good work.

Sound: 10, Naturally it is professional and very clear. Of course using the English voices with that clear accent. Voices were well done and fitted and were synched nicely with the animation, which pretty much sums is it all up, it was without a single flaw.

Violence: 7, Of course there was some violence, what would you call poking a fat guy then drilling into him? But when compared to other movies it was very little and not drastic. Just above average.

Interactivity: 5, One of the few things I was not impressed with. A movie maker of your proportions should make a movie with more modern time tools. You make longer flash movies and it is about time you try and fit the tools with the level of the flash. By that I mean more possible tools, like subtitles, a pause option, a seek or scene select. One of these has to become more common in longer movies by now. At the very least a pause option.

Humor: 8, Pretty funny movie overall, interesting sense of humor that I’d say only you really have. Just little hints of humor in different location. My personal favorite scene in particular was the one where the Doctor plays the audio tape of him saying he is alright when actually he is in misery.

Overall: 9, practically perfect flash entry but lacks a bit with interactivity. My suggestions are listed above.


People find this review helpful!