Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 7, 2007 | 12:27 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 8, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place January 10, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hotdiggedydemon and Egoraptor team up to bring you "WE ARE NATIVE AMERICAN CATS"
This is a story about being true to yourself, and not forgetting that your heritage is a part of who you are.

The song at the end is "Make Your Own Kind of Music", Written by Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, and performed by Robin Goldwasser. Enjoy!

Reviews


MikeIndustryMikeIndustry

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 19, 2008

Aw man

Now I'm going to be wondering about this for weeks. :(



KainVinosecKainVinosec

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 11, 2007

Native American review of ...Native American Cats.

I just gotta say, that because I'm a Native American I should probably have found this offensive and be threatening you or something. But, because I'm cool and whatknot, I gotta say that this film was freakin' hilarious and I totally support it. Rock on man, rock on. Oh, and EGORAPTOR; excellent work as always. Don't stop rockin' guys.



Cola82Cola82

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 8, 2007

Ugh, Stereotypes...

I registered just to review this. I couldn't help myself.

I saw that someone complained a bit about government money going to 1/4 or more Native Americans or those who are actively involved with preservation. I'm 1/16th (I think) Sioux, but my mother is the lovechild of a Cherokee man who refused, before his sudden death, (at the behest of his angry wife) to recognise my mother legally as his child. Her siblings are all blond and blue-eyed, so she has always stood out. As a 1/4 Cherokee, I could elect to take advantage of genetic tests which can now prove my heritage and likely take advantage of such programs. Even though my father's great Grandfather was only 1/2 Sioux, I was offered scholarships from my tribe in South Dakota. I have never, on moral grands, accepted these offers or sought a closer relationship to my tribes. I also live in the Northwest and view the local tribes here to be too different from my own to embrace (as an Anthropology major, I learned things... things that I didn't like).

I am, however, a very proud Native American. I abhor being considered 'white' and find most parodies of Native American life insulting. I also feel a deep, irrational sense of revulsion when white people dress in fringed buckskin. However, I have learned over time that these feelings set me apart from people in a negative fashion. My strong feelings for my people and heritage is a source of pride and strength for me. I therefore make it a point to respect the right of everyone to explore their identities through their relationship to the groups from which they come, as well as the right of everyone to explore the world through the understanding of other groups. Humour, as Dave Chapelle uses it, is a medium through which one can deflate racial and sexual stereotypes and rob them of their power. I have come to see parodies of Native American life this way (though I prefer to say Indian or American Indian, because it is less phonetically awkward).

I still could not, for the life of me, find this funny. I appreciate its intent, I value its message, and I respect your right and intentions in making it. I think it probably is very funny, but I can't escape my own bias. Asking your audience to have a sense of humour will not change the lifetime of experience and bias of individuals, especially those encouraged to submit their own thoughts and feelings on the matter.

That said, I thank you for sharing this piece. It was very well-made. It is never easy to parody issues about which others have strong feelings, but I think you've done so with a light touch that speaks to great talent.

-Cola



StellarFuryStellarFury

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 21, 2007

"lol wtf"

Well, that was pretty random.

Animation was great, stylistically impressive.

And I give you props for running with such a weird subject.

But... I guess I don't really get why it's funny. "Haha a Native American cat" only takes me so far.

I did find the ending funny. The whole "This documentary has a MESSAGE" thing.

You keep doing your thing, bro.



shroomi-MHSshroomi-MHS

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 21, 2008

uhhhm

well... ehh. not very much to review. deleted.