Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 7, 2007 | 12:27 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 8, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place January 10, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hotdiggedydemon and Egoraptor team up to bring you "WE ARE NATIVE AMERICAN CATS"
This is a story about being true to yourself, and not forgetting that your heritage is a part of who you are.

The song at the end is "Make Your Own Kind of Music", Written by Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, and performed by Robin Goldwasser. Enjoy!

Reviews


squeakytoadsqueakytoad

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 9, 2007

This is what Flash is all about.

You're definitely one of the best flash artists out there.
This was so flawless.

And Egoraptor did great on the voices.

Ahhh. It's just so great.

Never stop making movies.

-st



TitanClashTitanClash

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 9, 2007

Worthy of Television

If only all flash movies could aspire to this level. Great animation, hilarious concept, it EVEN had a moral! This is going on my favorites. Thanks for an awesome flash.



GRAFITTiGRAFITTi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 9, 2007

octomus prime

hotdiggedydemon you are one of my favorite Newgrounds artists, so rock on.



weallfailweallfail

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 9, 2007

Nice documentary.

Yo, You just described the past 5 years of my life. Well... uh except being a Native American and a cat.

Nice work.



Cola82Cola82

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 8, 2007

Ugh, Stereotypes...

I registered just to review this. I couldn't help myself.

I saw that someone complained a bit about government money going to 1/4 or more Native Americans or those who are actively involved with preservation. I'm 1/16th (I think) Sioux, but my mother is the lovechild of a Cherokee man who refused, before his sudden death, (at the behest of his angry wife) to recognise my mother legally as his child. Her siblings are all blond and blue-eyed, so she has always stood out. As a 1/4 Cherokee, I could elect to take advantage of genetic tests which can now prove my heritage and likely take advantage of such programs. Even though my father's great Grandfather was only 1/2 Sioux, I was offered scholarships from my tribe in South Dakota. I have never, on moral grands, accepted these offers or sought a closer relationship to my tribes. I also live in the Northwest and view the local tribes here to be too different from my own to embrace (as an Anthropology major, I learned things... things that I didn't like).

I am, however, a very proud Native American. I abhor being considered 'white' and find most parodies of Native American life insulting. I also feel a deep, irrational sense of revulsion when white people dress in fringed buckskin. However, I have learned over time that these feelings set me apart from people in a negative fashion. My strong feelings for my people and heritage is a source of pride and strength for me. I therefore make it a point to respect the right of everyone to explore their identities through their relationship to the groups from which they come, as well as the right of everyone to explore the world through the understanding of other groups. Humour, as Dave Chapelle uses it, is a medium through which one can deflate racial and sexual stereotypes and rob them of their power. I have come to see parodies of Native American life this way (though I prefer to say Indian or American Indian, because it is less phonetically awkward).

I still could not, for the life of me, find this funny. I appreciate its intent, I value its message, and I respect your right and intentions in making it. I think it probably is very funny, but I can't escape my own bias. Asking your audience to have a sense of humour will not change the lifetime of experience and bias of individuals, especially those encouraged to submit their own thoughts and feelings on the matter.

That said, I thank you for sharing this piece. It was very well-made. It is never easy to parody issues about which others have strong feelings, but I think you've done so with a light touch that speaks to great talent.

-Cola