Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 22, 2006 | 2:50 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 23, 2006
  • Weekly 4th Place November 29, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • StarCraft
    StarCraft Flash tributes and spoofs related to StarCraft!

Author Comments

Download my games here: http://dz2001.newgrounds.
com/news/post/181452 - there you will find the latest version with difficulty settings

**Warning this game has high system requirements
**I would recommend Pentium 4, 2.5-3Ghz
**Press Q to adjust quality if the game is running slow

*28.nov.2006* [Version 1.1] Fixes:
You've asked for this: ingame menu transitions are now optional - you can turn them off in the OPTIONS and switch between menu sections instantly. I've fixed 2 major bugs: Elder Brain bug (you could get double mana without having it installed) and Construct Mode bug (the respawn rates are now set to 0 when you quit to menu)
Some spelling mistakes are also fixed.
*26.nov.2006*
In response to the reviews:
- I know that the game is slow, and there is no way that i know of to make it faster, sorry about that.
- Stop bitching about difficulty (regeneration rates, respawn rates, dmg, hit points, too strong dragoons, etc). I am not going to change anything in the balance. If you are afraid of challenge and like to play games in which you dont die - go play something else. This game is not about random clicking and shooting - you'll have to find strategies to beat certain waves. These games I make are not for everyone =3
- There are some bugs caused by Construct Mode which wasn't tested properly and some spelling errors - I'll fix them soon.
- Hotkeys.. I'll think about that... don't really like the idea though.
*24.nov.2006*
I've asked whether I succeeded In creating the best defence game ever... and now its on the first place in Defence Games Collection and on the fron page!!! I guess that answers my question, hehe %)))
Thanks for the front page, Tom =3
*22.nov.2006* StarCraft Flash Action 5 is finally finished, after almost a year in development =3
I started working on this game several months after relatively successful release of my first defence game - StarCraft FA3.
FA3 was my first try in making defence games and it was rather primitive and boring (yes I admit it). This game is nothing like that, this is my ultimate defence game as I see it:
- enemies wont just walk into your base and explode (or pass by like in fa3) as in many games of such kind; in SCFA5 all the enemy units will be actually attacking your base %) there are 13 unique enemies with different attack types and different aims!
- There are 8 buildings that you will be able to build on your base: 4 "defence towers" and 4 "special buildings" that will unlock new features (like making infested terrans out of marines)
- the gameplay is divided into 27 waves, you will be able to SAVE after each wave
- there are numerous ways of killing enemies - not just building towers and watching them shoot (you'll loose this way). There are also 8 psionic spells, mines, infested terran etc...
- you will earn experience, levelup -> gain new spells and improve your abilities!

My goal was to create the best defence game ever and now its up to you to decide whether I succeeded or not!

Reviews


jabjabjabjab

Rated 0 / 5 stars March 23, 2014

This is complete garbage. as a veteran starcraft player this game makes me sick. sunkens dying to goliaths and the overmind having the life of a supply depot (even less...). Also marines can jsut run up to the overmind and shoot it. Its not like its protected by a zerg horde. Fucking retard made this game. Complete fucking garbage. Fucking shit. gay



ErichoEricho

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 16, 2013

Yeah, this is going to sound whiney, but it seemed a bit too complicated. I like your other games where you just smash things into each other. I am not that familiar with the StarCraft game. I have in fact seen gameplays and it is quite authentic to the original style. I think the effects are done quite well. The best part is probably the little things you click on.

I understand that a lot of people like these kinds of games. It's nice to have a good layout. I imagine the sounds are authentic to the game as well. It's weird how this is so popular in South Korea. Just another culture, I guess.



BoredMasterBoredMaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 20, 2013

This game is FANTASTIC! It was the #1 tower defense game for ages and ages for a reason. I still play this game, nearly 5 years after its release. As with anything on the internet, stupidity and ignorance leads to anger. If you read the reviews EVERY SINGLE PERSON that gives this game a negative review say "it's too hard." ROFL! Yes, I get stuck on level 15, but these people are stuck on level 2 and 4. Wow.... just....wow. Now I see whenever a major selling game comes out there's usually a "walkthru" book for $15 that comes out at the same time. Sooo many people are just plain stupid, weak-minded, and Neanderthalic. Those chumps usually "hate" that which is too difficult for their feeble minds. It's a predictable instinct with the mouth breathers.
Now, all that said, this game wasn't meant to be a "build and watch" defense game, like so many are. There are "figure out the puzzle" strategies to employ. If you get stuck on a level before level 15, and you really can't beat it no matter how many times you try, I'm doubting you have a college degree. Please, if that is you, don't reproduce, and quit spreading your vitriol on the interwebz.



Darklink0094Darklink0094

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2013

This is an Awesome game! The difficulty is very much like the real game but in a fun tower defense way. After level 4, it gets a bit tough but I think level 10 is pretty hard so far. And being quick with the True Sight makes the nukes easy. Thanks for making this! :)



CellidorCellidor

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 6, 2013

This game has some great design and music, but falls short of it's potential.

This may be a personal opinion, but when I consider a "strategy game", I interpret that as a game that has a few ways that it can be beaten, while none of them are necessarily "required". In most tower defense games, you can mix and match towers for flavour, and can find ones that make your life easier, but there is no set "required" combination to win. By this definition, the game is incredibly linear. You need -every- experience point you can get to scrounge for level-ups, the cash is unbalanced as you have more than you can use for the first few levels after getting the maximum number of sunken colonies. The game felt almost like a puzzle game more than strategy, as if there's a specific way to win each level that you -have- to follow, else you'll die.

What really killed this game for me, however, were the nukes. Trying to locate the ghost in time for the nuke to fall was just ludicrous.

Consider this. After being unable to pass the first nuke level from multiple attempts, I tried playing a hacked version of this game so I could see more of the game's content. However, even using a version of the game with -unlimited health, energy, money, and boosted experience-, I was unable to get past the first level where the suicide tanks appear. Why is this? Again, due to the ghosts.

I've played -many- different games in my time, and have tower defense games as a personal favorite, but this was far too broken to enjoy. Using true sight, every area attack I could, and bringing the discharge ability over every possible hiding spot, I was still killed by a ghost's nuke.

When you've made a game that's unplayable even with the cheats enabled, I think it's time to take another look at what you're working on here.

+ Good visual appeal
+ Fitting sound
+ Good sound effects

- No real "strategy"
- Ghost's nukes break the game
- Balance could use some work. (Energy regen, tower usability, etc. Can't fully rate the balance since playing normally was impossible past first ghost.)

Overall Rating - 4/10