Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 22, 2006 | 2:50 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 23, 2006
  • Weekly 4th Place November 29, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • StarCraft
    StarCraft Flash tributes and spoofs related to StarCraft!

Author Comments

Download my games here: http://dz2001.newgrounds.
com/news/post/181452 - there you will find the latest version with difficulty settings

**Warning this game has high system requirements
**I would recommend Pentium 4, 2.5-3Ghz
**Press Q to adjust quality if the game is running slow

*28.nov.2006* [Version 1.1] Fixes:
You've asked for this: ingame menu transitions are now optional - you can turn them off in the OPTIONS and switch between menu sections instantly. I've fixed 2 major bugs: Elder Brain bug (you could get double mana without having it installed) and Construct Mode bug (the respawn rates are now set to 0 when you quit to menu)
Some spelling mistakes are also fixed.
*26.nov.2006*
In response to the reviews:
- I know that the game is slow, and there is no way that i know of to make it faster, sorry about that.
- Stop bitching about difficulty (regeneration rates, respawn rates, dmg, hit points, too strong dragoons, etc). I am not going to change anything in the balance. If you are afraid of challenge and like to play games in which you dont die - go play something else. This game is not about random clicking and shooting - you'll have to find strategies to beat certain waves. These games I make are not for everyone =3
- There are some bugs caused by Construct Mode which wasn't tested properly and some spelling errors - I'll fix them soon.
- Hotkeys.. I'll think about that... don't really like the idea though.
*24.nov.2006*
I've asked whether I succeeded In creating the best defence game ever... and now its on the first place in Defence Games Collection and on the fron page!!! I guess that answers my question, hehe %)))
Thanks for the front page, Tom =3
*22.nov.2006* StarCraft Flash Action 5 is finally finished, after almost a year in development =3
I started working on this game several months after relatively successful release of my first defence game - StarCraft FA3.
FA3 was my first try in making defence games and it was rather primitive and boring (yes I admit it). This game is nothing like that, this is my ultimate defence game as I see it:
- enemies wont just walk into your base and explode (or pass by like in fa3) as in many games of such kind; in SCFA5 all the enemy units will be actually attacking your base %) there are 13 unique enemies with different attack types and different aims!
- There are 8 buildings that you will be able to build on your base: 4 "defence towers" and 4 "special buildings" that will unlock new features (like making infested terrans out of marines)
- the gameplay is divided into 27 waves, you will be able to SAVE after each wave
- there are numerous ways of killing enemies - not just building towers and watching them shoot (you'll loose this way). There are also 8 psionic spells, mines, infested terran etc...
- you will earn experience, levelup -> gain new spells and improve your abilities!

My goal was to create the best defence game ever and now its up to you to decide whether I succeeded or not!

Reviews


y8meny8men

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2009

Best and addictive

I am waiting for this time on my life and it happened.This makes this website good.



NiggleWiggleNiggleWiggle

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 16, 2009

Good game

its good but takes to long to recharge :(



sunnexsunnex

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2009

Requires Balancing

NOTE: Please remember to weigh this review, thanks!

Very nice effort! Presentation is excellent (albeit, stolen from starcraft), the game has a relatively polished feel, unfortunately UI is lacking a bit in usability (switching between powers and building mode during a level), and the difficulty may need to be balanced a bit (or difficulty options).

I can see the potential for deep game mechanics even without progressing very far. Unfortunately I only got so far as unlocking the third tower (I was overwhelmed by the blue marines). I am not new to tower def, but it seems to me that the game is designed, at least in the early stages, with a very specific strategy expected from the player in order to survive - this unfortunately results in a lack of viable strategies and a lot of trial and error.

Talking of viable strategies, I found the limited 4 slots for towers to be an interesting design choice. Why only 4? Perhaps you gain access to more later on? With more tower slots, the strategy a player can employ would be greatly increased. This gives them, amongst others, a choice of selling and buying a better tower or saving and buying at a later time etc.

Another concern is progression. A little bit of extra xp might help to keep those with lesser patience / time to try this game a bit longer.

Conclusion:
For those looking for a good quality and deep defense game that will last hours, you will likely find this refreshing and challenging. However, the "casual casual" audience will probably have their patience tested here and leave frustrated.


People find this review helpful!

VectorMancerVectorMancer

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 14, 2009

Not the best defence game ever

Try harder.



hadokenstylehadokenstyle

Rated 2 / 5 stars September 10, 2009

"Starcraft" is misleading

If by "Starcraft" you mean using the same sprites and sounds, then I suppose this fits, but this game bears very little resemblance to SC. None of the actual buildings functions, besides sunkens and perhaps infested terrans, show similarity to the original game... come on... spore colonies hitting ground? As far as I know this was made by somebody who has never played Starcraft.

The difficulty ramps up far too harshly and resource management is a bit of a pain. The four goliaths in the 3rd level are a ridiculous leap from the marines, especially when each of them has about 3-4 times the health of a marine. After a few continues, better management of 3 sunkens, still faced with slow recharge of the "smite" I didn't feel like replaying through again to pass that level.

I respect the homage to the original game but I don't consider it much of a tribute if it changes the game beyond recognition. There's a reason why SC and WC UMS games basically started Tower Defense- because they got the concept down beautifully. You know what would be awesome? Sunken Defense without having to reinstall SC.

Good job with graphics and sounds though.