Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 1, 2006 | 5:57 AM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place October 2, 2006

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

10.10.06 update: Bugs fixed, a GRIP of new hats and some female "bling," and more! The game feels much more balanced, so give it another try!

10.03.06 update: Bank robberies! You can now rob banks by selecting it in the Savings or Loan windows. Also, in case you didn't see it before, you can buy FIGHTING MOVES in the Barber Shoppe. This makes combat a lot less tedious. Come on, who doesn't want to shoot with dual uzis and do fire uppercuts?

Update 1: Thanks for the bug reports everyone. We're updating the game every chance we get!

This may be a remake of the game Dope Wars, but it's not just strategy. There's a full beat 'em up engine, with fists flying and guns blazing! No more random luck when the cops come after you!

We found there's already a remake on NG called Dealer. It's a cool game, but Hustler is an action game, with customizable characters!

Reviews


dragonbearspiderdragonbearspider

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 1, 2011

great but

good game but you sould have put to were you can save you game so you can come back later and play again with out starting a new game other then that the game is great



NeoDravenNeoDraven

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 5, 2011

A great remake, but has two glaring faults

I always enjoy any DopeWars-type games. This one is definitely one of the better ones, as far as the system, menus, GUI and extras. I like being able to purchase new combos, passports and bling, and being able to rob banks.

While this game is very fun, the first of the two major flaws is the same combat engine that sets it apart. It is wildly inaccurate, finicky on the timing of combos and sometimes, your character will just keep walking after you've released the key.

The encounter rate is obscene and brutal. You WILL be attacked every other day, after the first few days, without exception, without fail. Once you have 80 or fewer days remaining, you will spend most of your time fighting.

Besides those two major, major flaws, this is easily one of the best DopeWars-style games available online. I just wish that when I pressed Punch, that I would actually punch. It also feels like the game was padded out in length by the insane encounter rate.

Because of how many, many, many fights you get into, this is more of a flash beat-'em-up game with poor controls than it is a money flipping game, once you're on Day 80 or below.

Please tighten the combat engine, and PLEASE lower the encounter rate on any updates in the future. I also kind of missed the humor of the original. It might not be a bad idea to throw a few funny random encounters, or change the way that the game tells you 'Junkies will pay anything for smack'.

More guns would be nice. Also, I remember most other versions had premonition tips; some guy in the subway would tell you that there would be cheap X in Bogota tomorrow, or that there was a bust for Speed in London, or something. Those were critical gameplay elements. I'd like to see those in this game, too.

6/10. Pretty decent, but with room for improvement.


People find this review helpful!

pringle2pringle2

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2010

classic

Should make a newer version it'd be a frekin hit


People find this review helpful!

ServesumServesum

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 22, 2010

Let there be light

It is all right, just need more flavor than just going around different cities selling drugs



RogerRabbit789456123RogerRabbit789456123

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

Good Game

One of my top three favorite games on newgrounds