Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 29, 2006 | 2:06 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 30, 2006
  • Weekly 5th Place August 2, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This was a rather ambitious project, the idea was to send out the pages of a sketchbook to NG members all over the globe, their task was to draw all over it and mail it back to me.
At the end of the project the sketchbook was reassembled and the finished version now rests at the Newgrounds HQ.
Since not everyone can visit the office to see the real thing, this online version was built.
It doesnt come close to the experience of seeing the real drawings but it does let you see what everyone did.

There was about 72 entries sent out, 61 returned.
All in all a successful project and this will eventually migrate into being a part of the redesigned ng site when it is released through the efforts of Stamper.

Thanks to everyone who participated, sorry you all hated that brown paper, lol. And I'll be running this again next year, using white paper. See ya next year

Some people were wondering how much this project costed:
72 entries mailed at approx. $2.50 = $177
binding = $5.00
3 sketchbooks taken apart = 3 x 7.00 = $21.00

GRAND TOTAL = $203.00

***Featured Artists*** If you see any grammatical errors or what not PM me so i can change it. I'm only human.

Reviews


TheKizarTheKizar

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 30, 2006

ekublai review continued

Googum: don't know what to make of it except thy're definitely sketches 8.6/10
Zombiepimp: Hotness! that's tight pimp. The snake mouths a little weird but it's very delcate and nice 9.2/10
PsyGf: Nice work, good use of thick outlines and nice classical style 9.3/10
MindCbr: Took me awhile to figure it out. The D is too hard to read but it's nice 8.8/10
NegaOne: Wow. I love the different background levels and the whole scene just really speaks out. 9.5/10
NatMilBur:Doesnt take up enough space. good though 7.8/10
Rudy: girls face is pricless 8.1/10
Alnbox: Argh scratchout! 6.9/10
bezmn: Variety. Awesome style and angles 9.6/10
KSD: Great fills up page cept for the guys angle on left 9/10
Mnwfi: rival's Aloneinthedark talent for landscape. I thought th clouds movedlol 9.7/10
SquToad: Interesting... Pastels? Don't see alot of that 8.8/10
Stt3ch: like hair, doesnt mesh well with rest of pic 8.7/10
SFBros: splendtastic! I love those characters 9.5/10
Gi-go: lmao. excellent. 8.7/10
Hretk: great character but not enough. 8.4/10
rubberninja: Blue!!! 8.3/10
marcm: nice. keep working at it. nice colors 7.7/10/10
sketmike: only true "sketches" in whole thing. invisible skirt hehe 9.6/10
buzzwerd: What a strange little man you must be 9.4/10
meebs: little awkwar but very good still 9.3/10
lalo: nice tank 9/10
pako: awesome style 9.7.10
tomlm: sketchlike, i think you can do better 9.3/10
weird9: Great job. one of my favorites 9.5/10
brymilbu: need a little practice but good effort 8.6/10
nounquill: terrible, horrifying 10/10
senspec: creative, but a little bland and uninteresting. 8.4/10
RA24: So much going on. a world of wackiness. 9.8/10
wonchop: too much anime for me. 8.5/10
luksy: a face... 6.8/10 oh wait. AC nerd 7.3/10
Stamper: Stamper... 10/10
TomFulp: What can I say, it's beautiful, a gorgeous ensemble of vivid imagery that builds you up, slowly breaks you heart, tenderly mends it , then breaks it once more. It's a reminder of all the terrible things... that I see everyday. The oppression, the taunting. "silly rabbit, tricks are for kids."

And so that is my amazing review of thsi great sketchbook.


People find this review helpful!

DavoodDavood

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 13, 2007

lol why?

what's with you and all the dickand cock jokes?



RudyRudy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 30, 2006

hm..

Hah this project was very successful.
Yes, we had our ups and downs but yet we pulled through in the end.

To be a picky prick, I gotta say one thing. Is it that hard to spell my last name right? Hah, It's Ruediger not Rudgier, Luis. This was an amazing piece of work though.

To make it better I think you should maybe add some music into eh? Since I really need to be entertained with some music or something...other than the artwork.

I liked how this expressed everyone's ideas and opinions. My entry was pretty crappy I admit it, but next year I would put more effort into this.

Well til next year!,
-Sean Ruediger [not sean rudgier]
hah I'm such an ass.

P.S. GOOD JOB =D have fun claiming your daily award and front page viewing..and probably over 100K views >_>



EKublaiEKublai

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 30, 2006

Prepare to be amazed

A brief review of everyone's contribution to this marvelous sketchbook
tour.
I-Mockery: I love it. Everything from the insistence of filling the page to the cramped corners to the honest and brutal statement of the world ng is turning into 9.8/10
DS8181: I like the corners. I think the composition needs a little work. Balence the skill instead, because the left side definitely stands out as worse. Good creativity for 15 year old. Ink 8.1/10
-POXPOWER-: I sure hope that's a shadow. I like the detailed foreground mixed with a simplistic background. The dent lines stand out 9.2/10
Denvish: And the Good Lord saw this and said, "What?" Denvish, once again demonstrating the ability to take things too seriously. 3d like, nice design, and awesome sig. Could've taken more of the page 9.9/10
DZY2566: Nice. Very Strange and creative scene. Though it's wrong to take off points just because you don't understand it. I think the different features were too connected by lines. filled to the holes 8.9/10
Glael_Gamer: Points for color and good fade away towards the ends of the page make up for simplistic idea. Reminds me of one of your games, though they're much better 8.2/10
-Zoy- : I love collages! Especially when everythings drawn and in color. good work at covering all the brown 9.3/10
Johnny_Kaysys: Very good. The main character is a little flat. But it has a lot of good effort in it with value and color 8.4/10
AFRONINJA: If you weren't Afroninja, I'd... Aw well. What choice do I have 8/10
Aloneinthedark: You would do something like this. An extravagant scene with a single vagrant with an unknown purpose. vintage aloneinthedark 9.7/10
StreakyDesign: Odd, that's all I can say 7.9/10
ChesirePus: Where have you been? I've seen you all over the place but I must've never taken a second glance. Very well done and strange scene. lovely 3d feel with full (well not full blooded) but something else character. I thought you were bmk for a sec 9.4/10
Chulaid: Adam the great. Your name alone gets points. Bits of oddity dashed around Exactly what a sketchbook is supposed to be. I especially like the realism in the animals 9.2/10
BMK: Knew from the second i saw it it was you. Very creepy. Like the edges of the paper, and the style isn't simply ink. Not really sure myself. Oil Pastel? 9/10
Conair: Interesting ideas. Little dreamland sequence. Good 8.4/10
JMTBO2:No idea what it is but it's really well executed. Still not sure whether to be disturbed or be laughing help me out 8.7/10
JotandJab: As always, Dave your the man, nice big thick pen*I give you permission to use that* 7.7/10
British_Moose: Old collab buddy nice work. Not really sure what you did here, but then again I never really get some of the things you do.
I like everything except for the circles of the machine. 8.2/10
Thistler: I like dots so I'll give you some points. I have no idea what a glass pen is and how it differs from the regular, so in case I'm missing something sry. Good sig in the corner 7.9/10
-Fuzz-: Nice. Good splotchy/artsy geometric style with the mountain. Give the smaller guy a shadow 8.3/10
Gabe_Devlin: Guy looks like gonzo. I like the mousehole and all the random signs and question marks on the walls and desk. Good style 8.6/10
Sqeezy: Nice job. I really like the sudden value, it makes a lot of it look 3d and under a plastic wrap effect. Good artwork 9.1/10
-Luis-: wow. really like this one. Looks like one of those comic ads from the 60's, kinda thing I'd like to get tattooed on me 9.9/10
Krinkels: I don't know whether to praise you for doing such a great sketch or curse you for not having art like this in your madness series. Girl looks pretty hot. + points! 9.3/10
-Fenix-: The greatest thing you've done since your sig. Colored Pencil? You would do that. I like the randomness and simple distinctions between all of them 9/10
FetusEater: Very weird and original I like 9/10
Fierras: Very strange, but artwork is good 8.2/10
BlueBaby: love it. like something outta suess 9.6/10
ItAppearsIveRunOutOfLetters tobecontinued



FusionistX50FusionistX50

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 31, 2006

Sexcelent!

alot of these picture really surpised me. they're very creative and realistic.
Did they sign up through the forums? If so that would explain why I didn't notice the sign up thing for this. I may not be too good at animating yet but I AM an anime arist and would've loved to be part of this.