Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 29, 2006 | 2:06 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 30, 2006
  • Weekly 5th Place August 2, 2006

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This was a rather ambitious project, the idea was to send out the pages of a sketchbook to NG members all over the globe, their task was to draw all over it and mail it back to me.
At the end of the project the sketchbook was reassembled and the finished version now rests at the Newgrounds HQ.
Since not everyone can visit the office to see the real thing, this online version was built.
It doesnt come close to the experience of seeing the real drawings but it does let you see what everyone did.

There was about 72 entries sent out, 61 returned.
All in all a successful project and this will eventually migrate into being a part of the redesigned ng site when it is released through the efforts of Stamper.

Thanks to everyone who participated, sorry you all hated that brown paper, lol. And I'll be running this again next year, using white paper. See ya next year

Some people were wondering how much this project costed:
72 entries mailed at approx. $2.50 = $177
binding = $5.00
3 sketchbooks taken apart = 3 x 7.00 = $21.00

GRAND TOTAL = $203.00

***Featured Artists*** If you see any grammatical errors or what not PM me so i can change it. I'm only human.

Reviews


zionvillerzionviller

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 2, 2006

That was wonderful! Stick with the brown paper.

What a great idea! And excellent execution too!

It's great to see 'traditional' art works from these flash artists.

Personally, I think you should stick to the brown paper. White paper is just so boring. Surely these *talented* artists can overcome something like that. :)

Anyways.. I liked it tremendously! I hope to see another!


People find this review helpful!

squeakytoadsqueakytoad

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 2, 2006

Awesome

Thanks, Luis. This is amazing.

Really hate my part. Shouldn't have screwed around with pastels...
And WTF?! I should've put a little more thought into it.

Can't wait to do it again next year.



taburez1-2taburez1-2

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 2, 2006

XD

Beautiful. It was a surprise to see the sheer range of styles, textures, colors, etc. It was great how many feelings and messages were accessible in this project, perhaps something that would of been impossible by a single artist. It's also a fantastic way to discover other great artists that maybe one hasn't learned about yet. I usually don't like collabs, and I'm not even sure if this would be considered one, but if it is, it's by far one of the best I've ever seen. Outstanding. Hope to see another one next year.



Star-of-MexicoStar-of-Mexico

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 2, 2006

The crossroads...

...where teenaged boys meet a growing art form, both of which are not necessarily exclusive--teenage boys have creativity too, it just strays towards boobs, videogames, and beer. And what ties all those together? NEWGROUNDS. Newgrounds, where one can express the inexpressable; where one can tap into the infinite and abiding idolization by the masses of NES characters; where one can laugh at the absurd, distasteful, and grotesque literally until dawn, through devious use of the "search' panel. Newgrounds is the stomping ground of everyone from junior high--highschool internet addicts to graphic arts undergraduates to professional artists, animators, and programmers. Part of the reason Newgrounds gets so many crappy submissions is that everyone wants a piece of the Flash pie--which is also what makes it great. There's no censorship; you are entirely at the mercy of your peers, not some mod. Anything goes. The same way ten years ago every teenaged boy wanted his own death metal band, today every kid wants to be able to live off of the proceeds from their computer-generated cartoons. You get animations ranging between arguing over pirates vs. ninjas to displaying the finer artistic points involved in animation, and some that do both. Some flashes suck, some are awesome, and everyone and anyone can express themselves totally, because what MAKES a flash awesome is almost totally random, and the only scale of greatness is how much soul someone put into it. Look at Numa Numa--it's critics call it a fat guy singing a crappy song into a low-quality webcam; most call it amazing. Why? Because you can't help but respect and laugh with a guy blatantly making fun of himself, his friends, and that song in joyful, random, childish abandonment. This sketchbook should be published and sold on the site; I know I'd buy it, if only to chronicle what I can't help but think of as an ephemeral phenomena that is one of the cornerstones of internet culture in its most developmental, impressionable stages. But who knows; maybe Newgrounds will turn out like Google; a reviled and simultaneously worshipped monopoly of flash animations and games that makes or breaks artists based on how many 'front-pages' they have. Sorry I'm a little wordy tonight. To cut to the chase--this book is awesome, though the image quality could be better, and it makes me happy to see so many classic NG animators making an effort to create a more traditional art project, in a more flexible media.


People find this review helpful!

SteveGuzziSteveGuzzi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 1, 2006

Wow.

This is totally awesome and I feel like a complete jackass for not getting my page back to you. :'( :'( :'(