Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 26, 2006 | 7:18 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2006
  • Daily 3rd Place June 27, 2006

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

I like to stay upstairs...
Where it's quiet, where it's cold...
I hide away, I hide away...
It's where I stay, it's where I stay...

To download the new re-bastard form of the song go here...
http://www.newgrounds.com /audio/listen/167984

Reviews


StumpersStumpers

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 29, 2006

Excellent Flash

I completely enjoyed your flash. I don't care if people say that your art effects were "primative" because they still were a joy to watch. The storyline and music worked spectacularily with each other, with the song not entirely defining the storyline. That's just one of the many things that show you put thought into this.

Normally, I don't pay much attention to credits, but your credits and dedication were another high point of this work. In combination with the flash, they filled me with this feeling (I'm not sure if it has a name, but it was like awe and sadness mixed together, perhaps). I hope that if anything has gone wrong in your life that things will smooth out.

You seem to have a good relationship with God, something that will help you get through your whole. I don't know how I would get through life without Him. He provides a greater purpose for me and I'm so glad that you know Him too. Just as a side note, my favorite Psalm is Psalm 23. That's helped me get through some hard times.

Keep up the good work with your flash. It was a joy to watch. Very creative and warm-hearted, too.



TheAlphaXanyTheAlphaXany

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 7, 2008

I hear the message loud and clear

Actually jonH20, its about how people suffer for their passion. The woman at the door was the rent collecter. He didnt have any money because he was a musician for a living and his views were a little different from everyone elses, thus, nobody bought his music. But you see, none of that matters to him because when he plays his music hes brought into a world that he wouldnt trade for anything and would much rather trade the one hes in for it. I feel like that all too much sometimes and i feel that the less i play music, the more that world slips away. And thats why he doesnt get a different job. hes afraid he would loose the one thing that mattered most to him. So the man in the story and i are both stuck in a tough spot- suffer for your passion and die your self... or leave your passion and have it die for you...


People find this review helpful!
Five-Iron responds:

Yet another very interesting comment.

You people that speak good confuzzle my mind with your big words.

I'd say that there is no right or wrong way at seeing anything. We all have our views and not much we can do to change them besides leave the possibilities open.

Thanks for the interesting comment.


The-EverlasterThe-Everlaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2006

Perfect

Wow, I don't know if you will read this... I hope you do.. I hope this message inspires you as much as that inspired me. That was.. amazing. Everything was perfect. It just.

It shows music can save you from anything, even a world you are not happy with. And wow...... it just. That was brilliant. I want to thank you. That went straight to the top of my favorites.... number 1. I have never seen anything done so perfect, with every detail. That was so ... just.. wow is all i can say.


Five-Iron responds:

Once again, the response to this little movie has been OVERWHELMING and I can't respond to everyone, but Thank You Everlaster, and thank you to all the other wonderful positive reviewers. It took alot of time with school, and maybe its not perfect, but I'm glad alot of people can relate to it and appreciate it.


RemagRemag

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 29, 2006

holy shit

there are no words capable of describing that flash
very very good, Id like to know how long it took you to make that.
i feel what that guy felt.
very good (^_^)



JonH2OJonH2O

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 7, 2008

hmmm

Chuck-eh, you're seeing this film as the guy upstairs. This animation displayed the downfall of modern isolation. It showed the guy denying contact with a woman, in uncertainty shrugging his shoulders, to go and indulge in self-gratification through music.

I see this animation much more dark. The "transformation" you must be talking about is when the protagonist began listening to music and it colored the surroundings. But then, when the video zoomed out and displayed him in his room, it looked like a television for the stick figures. Making me feel like the Protagonists life is not derrived from the passion of music but how we isolate ourselves from the outside world to dissolve our minds into entertainment. While we sit here on our computers, we're not attending to our true god given desires of love, company, friendship, or anything else. As the outside world is throwing a party and conquering the world...you see.


People find this review helpful!
Five-Iron responds:

I see!

Very dark indeed. I'd say that most people are used to seeing things in a box, or coming out of some strange device. I'd even agree with you about how our own isolation creates how we see things in our own world.

A very interesting comment that I will remember.